Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Vinaigrette Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Vinaigrette Dressing

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2012

      This is very good. I made it olive oil and dried basil. Mine has a pronounced garlic taste (a good thing) but I may have used a little more garlic than called for (garlic cloves will vary in size). I made this a day ahead to let the flavors marry.

      This is a keeper and I'll make it again.

      There are a number of reviewers who said this was sweet. Taking a cue from them, I dissolved 2 teaspoons of sugar in the vinegar and then tasted it. Then I added another 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. That was perfect for my taste and the vinegar I used. I suggest this method instead of guessing and just putting the sugar in with the rest of the ingredients and hoping for the best. The sugar belongs in the vinegar in the first place to take the edge off it. And the amount of sugar required really depends on the acidity of the vinegar being used. That way you will always get it right and won't waste good ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

    • on July 27, 2009

      This was much too sweet and I only used 1/2 of the sugar called for, it wasnt even worth eating. Luckily I have so much basil in the garden right now I could afford to throw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Delicious! :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This is fantastic! I used olive oil and a little less than 1 tablesppon of splenda for baking. I like to use that splenda in dressings because it dissolves so easily. I mixed five different kinds of basil from my garden. I'll use this dressing for our salads until it's gone then make more! Thanks Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Loved this! Just what I was looking for, made me think of a delicious vinaigrette from an Italian restaurant. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This was so simple to make, and it is really delicious. It tasted especially good on a salad with tomatoes and parmesan cheese. One note: if you don't like very sweet salad dressing, you may want to start with just 1 tb. of sugar (it wasn't too sweet for me, but I really like my sugar). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Creamy and delicious. Served on a salad of fresh field greens from the farmer's market, and grape tomatoes, and fresh parmesan cheese. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Great flavour. I loooove fresh basil. I took a previous reviewer's idea and used green onion instead of shallots (shallots are not something i ever have just lying around the house), and used olive oil (indispensible, as far as i'm concerned). Also, as i prefer my vinagrettes on the tangy side, i cut the oil back to 1/2 cup, and it was still plenty thick. A little went a long way when tossed with mixed greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Fantastic dressing! I always halve the recipe since I only cook for two, and there is still plenty of it for both of us! I usually serve over spring mixed greens and fresh sliced roma tomatoes, often with some chopped walnuts too. A couple of changes I usually make--first, I use green onions instead of shallots (diced finely), and minced garlic. I also typically use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and since I don't usually keep fresh basil on hand, I use dried basil (using only 1-2 tablespoons since it is more concentrated than fresh basil). Because of these changes I don't feel the need to put it in a blender, so I just mix it all up and serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      This was delicious! I put is over a big green salad with romaine, butter and iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, garbanzo beans and crumbled italian sausage. It was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      An absolutely wonderful dressing, smooth with a subtle basil flavor. I did increase the shallots to 3, used 3 cloves of garlic, and used 2 packs of equal instead of the sugar. (have to watch those calories - yeah, sure! :-) ) I served it as a side dressing for an antipasti first course. Rave comments followed. I used some on a tossed salad the next day and savored every bite. A definite "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      Used this to dress a plate of sliced homegrown tomatoes. Very good! Try using balsamic vinegar and adjust the sugar (less) to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Lorac, this is wonderful! Light, the flavors are subtle, I love a dressing that enhances but doesn't leave an aftertaste. I will definitely be keeping this on hand. Can't wait for lunch tomorrow so I can have it again on the leftover salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Vinaigrette Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 399.5
     
    Calories from Fat 368
    92%
    Total Fat 40.9 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 148.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites