14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. I made it olive oil and dried basil. Mine has a pronounced garlic taste (a good thing) but I may have used a little more garlic than called for (garlic cloves will vary in size). I made this a day ahead to let the flavors marry.

This is a keeper and I'll make it again.

There are a number of reviewers who said this was sweet. Taking a cue from them, I dissolved 2 teaspoons of sugar in the vinegar and then tasted it. Then I added another 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. That was perfect for my taste and the vinegar I used. I suggest this method instead of guessing and just putting the sugar in with the rest of the ingredients and hoping for the best. The sugar belongs in the vinegar in the first place to take the edge off it. And the amount of sugar required really depends on the acidity of the vinegar being used. That way you will always get it right and won't waste good ingredients.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len March 25, 2012

This was much too sweet and I only used 1/2 of the sugar called for, it wasnt even worth eating. Luckily I have so much basil in the garden right now I could afford to throw it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdt's wife July 27, 2009

Delicious! :) Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~la petite chef~ July 21, 2009

This is fantastic! I used olive oil and a little less than 1 tablesppon of splenda for baking. I like to use that splenda in dressings because it dissolves so easily. I mixed five different kinds of basil from my garden. I'll use this dressing for our salads until it's gone then make more! Thanks Lorac!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk September 18, 2008

Loved this! Just what I was looking for, made me think of a delicious vinaigrette from an Italian restaurant. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everything Else Chef August 13, 2008

This was so simple to make, and it is really delicious. It tasted especially good on a salad with tomatoes and parmesan cheese. One note: if you don't like very sweet salad dressing, you may want to start with just 1 tb. of sugar (it wasn't too sweet for me, but I really like my sugar). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie March 22, 2008

Creamy and delicious. Served on a salad of fresh field greens from the farmer's market, and grape tomatoes, and fresh parmesan cheese. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT June 24, 2007

Great flavour. I loooove fresh basil. I took a previous reviewer's idea and used green onion instead of shallots (shallots are not something i ever have just lying around the house), and used olive oil (indispensible, as far as i'm concerned). Also, as i prefer my vinagrettes on the tangy side, i cut the oil back to 1/2 cup, and it was still plenty thick. A little went a long way when tossed with mixed greens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
incdeb March 04, 2007

Fantastic dressing! I always halve the recipe since I only cook for two, and there is still plenty of it for both of us! I usually serve over spring mixed greens and fresh sliced roma tomatoes, often with some chopped walnuts too. A couple of changes I usually make--first, I use green onions instead of shallots (diced finely), and minced garlic. I also typically use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and since I don't usually keep fresh basil on hand, I use dried basil (using only 1-2 tablespoons since it is more concentrated than fresh basil). Because of these changes I don't feel the need to put it in a blender, so I just mix it all up and serve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeygirl8 November 14, 2006
Basil Vinaigrette Dressing