Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Shrimp with Feta and Orzo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Shrimp with Feta and Orzo

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2010

      Fabulous! I didn't have any feta, so I used parmesan cheese instead. I also added garlic, because I am crazy about it. The dish was awesome. Light tasting, yet filling. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      *ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS* I prepared as written with 1 exception, I also used a foil covered backing dish and it came out perfect. I did add some chopped Kalamata olives and next time I will add more Orzo. Thanks for posting such a fabulous recipe *Made for SSaSSy's ZWT 6*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      My clipping of this recipe torn from March 2000 Cooking Light is a favorite I pull out year after year. I make it exactly as written; my DH and mother say this is their favorite shrimp dish. I have had difficulty finding the foil oven bags lately, so I just make my own with foil. My kitchen foil is much lighter weight so I have to carefully create the "bag" on a cookie sheet and handle it gently so as not to puncture it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      We really, really liked this!!! It was so fresh and light tasting. we used 1C white rice, only because we weren't able to find the orzo pasta at our store. It was wonderful with the rice, and we followed the rest of the directions exactly. We also made it on the stovetop...cooking the rice first, and adding the rest of the ingredients about 8 minutes before the rice was done. We will definitely make this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      What a great recipe! Following the advice of other reviewers, I doubled the orzo, and cooked this in a covered glass baking dish. I also added some green beans, cut into bite-size pieces, because they needed to be used. We loved this! Bursting with flavour and marvellous consistency, it made me wonder why I don't cook with orzo more often, a very tasty change from the usual pasta or rice! Very easy to do, and just delicious. I had a Little leftover, and ate it myself while cleaning the kitchen, sorry, I just felt, its so good, and I'm worth this, ha ha!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2014

      Easy, light, and tasty. I used 1 lb. of shrimp. Add a salad and a healthy dinner is served.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      This was a very simple, tasty dish. It was easy to make after work because there is not much prep work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      Wonderful! Easy to prepare and so delicious. Halved the recipe for two of us (but kept the original amount of orzo) and there was plenty. I was a little short on the feta, so topped it up with goat cheese...and it worked nicely. Nuked some diced onion to add as I was without scallions (thought I had them) and that worked too. Cooked it in a well sealed casserole, and it turned out just great. Amazing flavours! We will be enjoying this again & again & again......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      Very tasty, and easy to make. Some new ingredients for us. Made for best of 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      This could not have been easier or more relish! Due to poor planning, I subbed yellow onion for scallions and had to use both feta & blue cheese and it was still outstanding. I used canned tomatoes with juice, not sure if fresh tomato was the idea or not It worked perfectly. I also made it in a covered casserole (with foil & lid). Timing is spot on for large shrimp.. Thanks a bunch for sharing this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Fantastic recipe! The flavors were a great combination. I made the recipe exactly like it was written and paired with a fresh garden salad and garlic bread. It is a great tasting, filling, but light dish. The only thing I may add next time is minced garlic like another reader mentioned--add that's only because we love garlic. FANTASTIC!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      Da bomb, da bomb, da bomb!!! I doubled the orzo, as other raters suggested. Because shrimp is so expensive here in lower Northern Michigan, I used a pounnd of medium-sized shrimp and about a 1/4 lb. of salad shrimp on top of the orzo mixture. Good call! I truly think that fresh basil makes a big difference, so, by all means, use it. And don't skip on fresh diced tomatoes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      The flavors in this recipe are just wonderful and it is such an easy clean-up dish in this very hot and steamy weather. I added some Kalamata olives and mixed in some cooked and drained spinach. I used cooked spaghetti instead of orzo. I had some leftovers so I added cooked, chopped chicken to it and it made another nights supper. I'll use this as my next company supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I also doubled the orzo, but loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Great fresh taste and super easy! A great way to use all of our garden basil - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This was an excellent and easy dinner. The subtle lemon flavor complemented the orzo and the feta had a creamy and just right consistency. I will try this with extra veggies as some have suggested but it is mighty good just as presented. Thanks for sharing, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Love Feta. An easy an healthy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This is so yummy! Thank you, Kim, for posting this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I tried this recipe because I wanted to try my homemade feta. It was great and a great combination of flavors. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I doubled the recipe so we'd have leftovers, and I'm glad I did. This was delicious and surprisingly easy. I didn't really pay attention to the order of ingredients and just threw everything together in a baking dish and covered it with foil. I used the pre-cooked shrimp with tails still on since that's what I found at the store. Other than chopping the green onions and grating some lemon rind, there isn't much prep work. I might try adding asparagus or another veggie next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Shrimp with Feta and Orzo

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 447.7
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    30%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 248.2 mg
    82%
    Sodium 1687.8 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 35.7 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes