22 Reviews

What a 5-star delicious recipe! I'd never heard of basil lemonade before, but thought I'd give it a shot. I doubled the recipe and got the batch good & cold; the end result was fantastic! A very magical & refreshing drink. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing this one! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maura666 January 10, 2004

Made this today for Dad who is sick and has a very bitter after taste on his tongue (not that you guys really needed to know that, but you will see why...pls read on). I used thai sweet basil, and man was this good....I had full use of my tastebuds and this was to die for...but the absolute compliment is this! Dad loved it!!! He found it really refreshing...and he really enjoyed the taste though his tastebuds are exactly normal!!! And Judy thank yoU!! He said that the tea helped with his tastebuds, and his tongue felt normal after that. Thank you for helping dad!! Dad said give the lady 100 stars!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac October 20, 2003

I like this drink and I have heaps of sweet basil and Thai basil in my garden. Good concoction for a tropical summer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat December 10, 2003

I agree with both the former reviewers of this recipe. This is a wonderful refreshing lemonade and one that is not too sweet as well. I used fresh green Indian basil leaves from my garden to make this. We've loved every sip! Thank you so much. I'll be making ALOT of this now on;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani October 18, 2003

A perfect recipe for summer basil. Tastes refreshing, almost like a mint lemonade. Great drink to serve at parties!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckycloud29 August 11, 2003

Very refreshing and not too sweet. A great summertime beverage!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 28, 2003

This was a nice twist on lemonade and I'm sure I'll make it again. Thanks for a nice refreshing recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith January 04, 2011

I wasn't crazy about the basil flavor, but it smelled really good. And it's very refreshing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 July 30, 2009

Wonderful recipe. I'm a huge fan of basil, so I added a lot extra. I had far too much basil left in my garden, but after finding this recipe I wish I had more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OwlMonkey July 15, 2009

This was very good. I would use less basil next time though. It was very refreshing and thirst quenching. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 May 24, 2009
Basil Lemonade