Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Jelly

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2005

      this is not my recipe but i made some corrections and it set just fine. I used 2 1/2 cups of apple juice, 1 1/2 cups of basil leaves chopped, 1/2 c cider vinegar, 5 1/2 cups sugar, 2 packets of liquid pectin. Bring 2 cups of apple juice to boil and pour over basil, let rest 25 min. strain, discard all but 1 tbsp. basil, and add 1/2 cup apple juice, vinegar, i did not use food colouring but added 1 tbsp. of basil. I also added 1/2 tsp butter as not to let mixture foam. Bring to a hard boil for 1 min. Remove from heat and add pectin. Reheat for about 30 sec. remove from heat and stir for 5 min. Pour into hot sterilized jars and attach lids and bands. Process 15 mins. in water bath> Mine have all sealed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      When I first saw this recipe, I wondered what I could put this on. After I made it, I was amazed at the flavor. It will be good on anything. The only thing is Sue, is that you didn't say in your directions to when to put the pectin in. I put it in after the sugar melted and came to a boil and then boiled it again for another minuite. I wasn't for sure when to put it in. I'm not very experienced at jelly making. I hope this sets up good. If you would please go back and add in "when" to put in the pectin. I would love to make this again sometime. LeeAnn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I know I am supposed to be writing a review - but I have not made this jelly yet. I was wondering what I would use the jelly for? Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Absolutely fabulous, what a different way to use up all my garden basil. I have to admit the strangeness of this recipe attracted me and I seriously wondered how good it would turn out. But one taste and I was sold… WOW! I did the recipe as is, minus the food coloring. It took 5 days to become a solid jelly, other than that it was smooth sailing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Very easy to make and terrific with lamb; much more so than the customary mint jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

    • on December 19, 2004

      Mine didn't set-up either and I've been making jelly for 15 years. But the flavor is wonderful - subtly basil. My yield was six 1/2 pints. I added the pectin the usual way, after the sugar melted, then boiled the jelly hard for one minute. I don't believe this jelly will ever set, but I'll wait a week before trashing it. If it sets, I'll amend this review. Keep your fingers crossed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      The flavor was great- but the jelly never set-up. I have 6 1/2 pints of basil flavored liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      The rating is based on how the jelly tasted, as sampled before the jelly set up. I followed the recipe to the letter and I guess something was misread. I ended up with over six 1/2 pints, and being very inexprienced in making jelly, I don't know when this is supposed to set up. I sure hope it does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (1710 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1033.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    48%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 264.4 g
    88%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 260.2 g
    1041%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites