182 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

didn't have any mushrooms, but it was still delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 July 11, 2010

This was great!! I passed the recipe on to some friends. They loved it as well! Great recipe thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oster71 January 20, 2004

What a wonderful dish! It was a hit with everyone - even my very picky 5 year old!! Thanks so Much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allie4 November 13, 2003

OH MY GOSH PEOPLE!! This was AMAZING! I would give this 10 stars if I could!! If you love pasta with a rich & creamy flavour packed sauce this is the dish for you! I had some chicken that needed to be cooked and some leftover whipping cream from a dessert that I made for Thanksgiving, so I came in search of a pasta recipe and I am soooo glad I chose this one! The only thing that I did that was even slightly different was that I cut my chicken in strips instead of cubes and I used 2 tsps. dried basil because I didn't have fresh. When I poured the sauce over the chicken mixture I found that I wanted it slightly thicker, so I whisked in a little more flour. I served over fettuccine as directed and it was to die for! Better than some pasta I have had in restaurants! Not the most heart healthy dish in the world but such a treat! And we were even extra naughty and grated fresh parmesan over it!!!!! I am already looking forward to making this again, next time with a nice bottle of white wine! Definitely one of the BEST dishes I have made from Zaar so far! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...it's a winner!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* October 15, 2003

Very good. Thank for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyrb June 18, 2003

This recipe was DELISH and so easy to make! I was even able to modify the sauce to make it dairy free! I used cashew cream instead of regular cream (1/2 cup cashews blended with 3/4 cups water until smooth and creamy - add more water if needed). I also had to use vegetable bouillon instead of chicken because that's all I had at home. I suggest increasing the chicken to 2 lbs and doubling the mushrooms because this makes a lot of sauce and it is excellent eaten as left-overs the next day. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicailene March 21, 2015

What more can I say. I did add some garlic as suggested, used 5T of fresh basil and had to use milk instead of cream. It was perfect. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 26, 2014

Like others have already wrote this is definitely an excellent recipe. One thing i really enjoyed is the strong chicken flavor which was quite distinct. I can tell you just don't add any extra salt to the sauce until you taste it because the salt content was just right without adding any extra salt (an extra and it would have been to salty). My wife even loved this recipe and she, in general, does not like cream sauces.<br/><br/>If i had to say anything negative its just that i really didn't taste the basil that much. I will definitely add a lot more next time but even with that i think its a 5-star recipe. Thanks Inez for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncage June 23, 2014

Absolutely delicious! The fresh basil and mushrooms really made the dish. I love pasta dishes and this is a new favorite of the families.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dreier123 May 13, 2014

While DD didn't care for this dish, everyone else enjoyed it after a few changes. I originally made it as written with the exception of being a little short on the heavy whipping cream so I had to top it off with a touch of fat free half and half to get the amount needed. I also had to saute the chicken, onion and mushroom mixture longer than called for as it wasn't done when my timer went off. I served it over spinach fettuccine. We all felt it was lacking something. So I topped it with shaved Parmesan cheese. It still need something. I added some garlic parsley and that did the trick. We really enjoyed it this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 07, 2014
Basil Cream Chicken