Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Cream Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Cream Chicken

    Average Rating:

    181 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 181

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      didn't have any mushrooms, but it was still delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      This was great!! I passed the recipe on to some friends. They loved it as well! Great recipe thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      What a wonderful dish! It was a hit with everyone - even my very picky 5 year old!! Thanks so Much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      OH MY GOSH PEOPLE!! This was AMAZING! I would give this 10 stars if I could!! If you love pasta with a rich & creamy flavour packed sauce this is the dish for you! I had some chicken that needed to be cooked and some leftover whipping cream from a dessert that I made for Thanksgiving, so I came in search of a pasta recipe and I am soooo glad I chose this one! The only thing that I did that was even slightly different was that I cut my chicken in strips instead of cubes and I used 2 tsps. dried basil because I didn't have fresh. When I poured the sauce over the chicken mixture I found that I wanted it slightly thicker, so I whisked in a little more flour. I served over fettuccine as directed and it was to die for! Better than some pasta I have had in restaurants! Not the most heart healthy dish in the world but such a treat! And we were even extra naughty and grated fresh parmesan over it!!!!! I am already looking forward to making this again, next time with a nice bottle of white wine! Definitely one of the BEST dishes I have made from Zaar so far! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...it's a winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Very good. Thank for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      What more can I say. I did add some garlic as suggested, used 5T of fresh basil and had to use milk instead of cream. It was perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Like others have already wrote this is definitely an excellent recipe. One thing i really enjoyed is the strong chicken flavor which was quite distinct. I can tell you just don't add any extra salt to the sauce until you taste it because the salt content was just right without adding any extra salt (an extra and it would have been to salty). My wife even loved this recipe and she, in general, does not like cream sauces.<br/><br/>If i had to say anything negative its just that i really didn't taste the basil that much. I will definitely add a lot more next time but even with that i think its a 5-star recipe. Thanks Inez for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      Absolutely delicious! The fresh basil and mushrooms really made the dish. I love pasta dishes and this is a new favorite of the families.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      While DD didn't care for this dish, everyone else enjoyed it after a few changes. I originally made it as written with the exception of being a little short on the heavy whipping cream so I had to top it off with a touch of fat free half and half to get the amount needed. I also had to saute the chicken, onion and mushroom mixture longer than called for as it wasn't done when my timer went off. I served it over spinach fettuccine. We all felt it was lacking something. So I topped it with shaved Parmesan cheese. It still need something. I added some garlic parsley and that did the trick. We really enjoyed it this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      A little bland for my taste. I might add some pesto or sharp cheese to bump up the taste a bit. My five year-old son loved it, especially the mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      Made this for dinner last night - family thought it was Blah. Followed recipe exactly - took longer to cook chicken and sauce never really thickened like I thought it should. Will not be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Amazing! I must have cut my chicken in larger chunks than the recipe calls for because it took my chicken more than 4 minutes to cook. Actually, I browned the chicken first, then added the onions and mushrooms and cooked for about 10 minutes more. The onions caramelized nicely. I also felt the sauce was too thin. Next time I'll reduce the amount of liquid since we only used about half of it anyways. I used 1/2 tablespoon of "Better than Bouillon Chicken Base" instead of bouillon and Half & Half instead of whipping cream. This is going in my Permanent Addition cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This was amazing, everyone went mad about it. Served up with my home made ravioli delish. Used red onion as I ran out of white onion. Defiantly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Another awesome dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      This is an absolutely delicious dish with a beautiful presentation. I had to tweak the recipe a little bit. I used one percent milk in the sauce because that was all I had on hand. It still tasted rich and delicious. I just had to thicken it a little longer. I used frozen cubes of freshly minced basil because I didn't have any fresh on hand. It was still very flavorful. I didn't have onion or mushrooms on hand and I blended some parmesan cheese and garlic into the sauce. Instead of cooking the chicken in oil, i marinated it in some fresh garlic and more basil and grilled it on my george forman grill. It turned out absolutely wonderfully! I loved the flavour that the basil and the chicken broth/bouillon gave. It definitely tasted like something one would order in a restaurant. I will be making it again very soon probably using the same substitutions I did this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Made for DH this evening - first time I've ever tried to make a cream sauce - turned out beautifully - albeit a bit on the thin side - next time I make this I'll add another tablespoon of flour per another reviewers suggestion. Thank you for a wonderful recipe MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      This was a terrific recipe! I made this recipe as directed, and was a little wary of the amount of basil I added, since I'm not use to using fresh herbs. I believe the fresh basil really knocked this recipe out of the ball park. I'll definately add this to our dinner rotation. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      Oops!! I did it again! I meant to give this one the five stars it deserves, so here they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Used a whole 1lb box of spaghetti, no mushrooms and milk instead of cream. This was fantastic. It reminded me of Pasta Roni, which I love but no longer eat due to it's unhealthiness. I'm looking forward to trying this with other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Very easy dish. The family loved it and have added this to our keeper list. I added some cheddar cheese to the cream sauce and also 2 cloves of minced garlic. Delicious. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Cream Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (448 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.5
     
    Calories from Fat 373
    68%
    Total Fat 41.5 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 177.0 mg
    59%
    Sodium 624.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes