182 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Inez, you've gone and done it again! This is a tremendous dish, the sauce is so creamy and the basil flavor really stands out! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! This one will be made often by me!

51 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper July 07, 2002

Oh my gosh, this is sooooooo good! The only substitution I made was milk for the whipping cream since I didn't have any cream. I served this over mashed potatoes and it was delicious; I will try it with the pasta next time. I made your Fresh Green Beans Delux (Fresh Green Beans Deluxe), what a meal!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diamonds4heather July 17, 2002

Inez... this was wonderful! The only change I made was reducing the amount of mushrooms, because I only had a few on hand. I served this with a salad and warm breadsticks. My husband even gave it a 5 star rating too, and he isn't very fond of chicken... so that is saying alot!!! I will definitely be making this dish again!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 30, 2002

A good family dish thanks Inez. The basil gave it a nice fresh finish. I make similar dishes, and like to cook with wine, so next time, I will sub some wine for the water, and add some parmesan to the sauce before serving.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 29, 2002

My husband wanted to know who I was and what had I done with his wife after I made this. I have been known to make some catastrophic disasters in the kitchen. This recipe helped me reclaim a little of my confidence. Fabulous. Rich, creamy sauce that was very easy to make. The basil rules. Very elegant and delicious. Thanks Inez. I will be checking out more of your recipes for sure.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella214 August 23, 2002

After reading Diamonds4Heather's review, I also made this recipe with the Green Beans Deluxe...WOW! This dish is fantastic and went perfectly with the green beans plus Cowboy Mashed Potatoes (found on another recipe site)! I love mushrooms, but substituted the onions for shallots, and added another tbsp. of flour (I love my sauce creamy). The taste was superb! Thanks Inez, this recipe will be used many more times in my household.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meridien October 30, 2002

Very, very good. Easy to make.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avidreader September 24, 2002

Overall, recipe was very tasty - my family all enjoyed it. My experiece was that the basil was not strong enough so 2 tbsp didn't give it enough basil flavor for me. Also, did anyone else experience their sauce taking FOREVER to thicken? I will definitely make it again, but more basil next time! Thanks for a winner!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbunberry bunberry September 09, 2002

Inez, the was amazing! I used half the mushrooms as I am not a huge fan of them (but my friends are). It was very quick, easy, and tasted amazing! One of my firends went back for 3rd! This will be something I make over and over again!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn August 27, 2002

You definitely get a lot of flavor for your work out of this recipe. This is very easy to make and it was a really big hit!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdamB August 25, 2002
Basil Cream Chicken