Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Cream Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Cream Chicken

    Average Rating:

    181 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 181

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      Inez, you've gone and done it again! This is a tremendous dish, the sauce is so creamy and the basil flavor really stands out! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! This one will be made often by me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      Oh my gosh, this is sooooooo good! The only substitution I made was milk for the whipping cream since I didn't have any cream. I served this over mashed potatoes and it was delicious; I will try it with the pasta next time. I made your Fresh Green Beans Delux (Fresh Green Beans Deluxe), what a meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      Inez... this was wonderful! The only change I made was reducing the amount of mushrooms, because I only had a few on hand. I served this with a salad and warm breadsticks. My husband even gave it a 5 star rating too, and he isn't very fond of chicken... so that is saying alot!!! I will definitely be making this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      A good family dish thanks Inez. The basil gave it a nice fresh finish. I make similar dishes, and like to cook with wine, so next time, I will sub some wine for the water, and add some parmesan to the sauce before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      My husband wanted to know who I was and what had I done with his wife after I made this. I have been known to make some catastrophic disasters in the kitchen. This recipe helped me reclaim a little of my confidence. Fabulous. Rich, creamy sauce that was very easy to make. The basil rules. Very elegant and delicious. Thanks Inez. I will be checking out more of your recipes for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      After reading Diamonds4Heather's review, I also made this recipe with the Green Beans Deluxe...WOW! This dish is fantastic and went perfectly with the green beans plus Cowboy Mashed Potatoes (found on another recipe site)! I love mushrooms, but substituted the onions for shallots, and added another tbsp. of flour (I love my sauce creamy). The taste was superb! Thanks Inez, this recipe will be used many more times in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Very, very good. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Overall, recipe was very tasty - my family all enjoyed it. My experiece was that the basil was not strong enough so 2 tbsp didn't give it enough basil flavor for me. Also, did anyone else experience their sauce taking FOREVER to thicken? I will definitely make it again, but more basil next time! Thanks for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      Inez, the was amazing! I used half the mushrooms as I am not a huge fan of them (but my friends are). It was very quick, easy, and tasted amazing! One of my firends went back for 3rd! This will be something I make over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      You definitely get a lot of flavor for your work out of this recipe. This is very easy to make and it was a really big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      Another 5 star recipe Inez - I can always be sure my family will love it if it has your name on it! Thanks, Em

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Excellent! I like it spicier, but it's a very easy recipe to modify.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      I made this recipe the other night and thought it was pretty good. The next day I reheated a small portion of it and it was bursting with flavor....a lot more than the previous evening. The flavors had married overnight and it went from pretty good to GREAT! Next time I will put the dish together ahead of time and let it set overnight or at least a few hours and then bake it just before serving. This will make it more flavorful and a great do ahead for a dinner party. Serve with a good Caesar salad and garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This has tremendous flavor! SO easy! Thanks Inez, I am becoming dependant on your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      This is good! I found this recipe in one of my cookbooks and just posted it not knowing that you already did.Basil is a wonderful herb,I hope everyone tries it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Fantastic! I actually made the sauce earlier in the day, and let it sit until it was time to reheat and mix together. Everyone raved, and I was even asked for the recipe. Thanks for a wonderful dinner, Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      I didn't actually make this, I printed it for a friend whose poultry loving daughter was having a birthday. They were all so thrilled with it, they made sure I got some. This is special. She followed directions exactly, except she used purple leaved basil, which we agreed regular basil would be "prettier". This is one recipe I will be making for the next special occasion in our family. Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      Ileans asked about substitutions....the second time I made this delicious chicken, I substituted lo-fat condensed milk and it was just as good. I served it over brown rice, too. The leftovers the following day were mixed with another can of chicken broth for a wonderful soup for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Inez, this is another great one. The cream sauce was easy and the fresh basil added wonderful flavor. I used angel hair pasta and served this with salad and bread. Thanks for another splendid meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I loved this dish! Easy to make and it made a lot. It was almost even better the next day after the noodles had soaked all the flavors in. Will be making this soon again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Cream Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (448 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.5
     
    Calories from Fat 373
    68%
    Total Fat 41.5 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 177.0 mg
    59%
    Sodium 624.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites