Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2010

      We thought this was very good! I halved the recipe, but did keep to the full recipe seasoning amounts. I thought I had ginger but found that I didn't and just added a soft dusting of ground ginger, and I also squeezed some fresh lime juice over top of the finished product. I would love to make this again- soon. I think the only thing different I may do is next time add some snow peas or something like that to make it a little more hearty & filling. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe and have made it many times from my BH&G cookbook. The version I have asks for 1 T of curry powder instead of everything listed individually. But also adding the chili powder and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      This made for a good dinner, but honestly, I didn't think it was anything terribly special. We followed the recipe, using less chicken than called for (1 breast, 1 thigh), but keeping other measures the same and adding 1 sliced red bell pepper. I felt that the spices really didn't come through strongly enough- you could taste them, but they were kind of mild, IMO. I found that the flavors were too mild to really give this a defninitive Indian or Thai flavor. We used 2 Thai red peppers in lieu of jalepenos, but I think this would really benefit from the addition of some curry paste. This wasn't bad- just a little mild for my tastes. I guess I was expecting something with a more 'authentic' flavor. Being as its from BH&G, I maybe shouldn't have got my hopes up too high, but I do think this would make an excellent addition to the menu of a family that does not eat Thai food several times a week like we do! I think its mild enough that kids would like it, and still flavorful enough to be a treat for the adults. Thanks for the recipe, Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Loved this! Hubby loved it too, except he wanted MORE SAUCE. :) I agree that the spices were quite mild for a Thai type dish, so I added about 4-5 T. of curry powder to this recipe. I think adding sliced green onions would be a nice garnish as well (or any other veggie you like). All in all a good recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap January 2012- Great instructions and an enjoyable dish for the whole family. Not quite what I expected- the spices were quite mild. I think reading some of the reviews, either doubling the herbs/spices or halving the chicken is a great option. Also I wasn't sure if this dish used Mexican chili powder blend or the ground (hot) chilli powder that is used in Asian style dishes. I used two green chillis from my garden and used 1/2 fresh Italian style basil and 1/2 Thai basil. Photo also to be posted

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I agree with Roosie's review. This was good, but a bit bland. It could use more kick. I personally won't be making it again, but I do think this would appeal to those with mainstream tastes who don't like a lot of spice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I recently made my first curry dish and loved it, so I've been looking for others to try. I'm glad I chose this one as it got a thumbs-up from everyone in the house. I seasoned the chicken and put it in the fridge for two hours before cooking it -- the spices were delicious and flavored every bite of the chicken. For my tastes, the gingerroot was a little strong, so I'm going to cut the amount in half next time, and perhaps add some minced hot pepper to mine just to give it a little more heat -- my son loved the mild heat just the way it was, though. Thanks for sharing this delightful curry recipe we all enjoyed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      OK - CAREFUL when adding spices. Turmeric is 1/4 not 1/2. I'm sure I don't have to tell you how I learned THAT?! Will try again and rate when I make it correctly....Also - would recommend leaving in seeds for jalepeno for at least one of the jalepenos...It could have used a bit more spice IMHO.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      WOW this was great the complexity of the spices with the taste of the fresh sweet basil really made this, the only change I made was that I was going to use a fresh chilli from the garden but after a taste test WOW that would blow the DM's socks off (taken us long enough to get her used to spicy taste but heat is another factor), so sprinkled some dried chilli flakes from last years crop of chillies. I defrosted tenderloins and one breast which ended up weighing 1.5 lbs and the 2 small cans of coconut milk I had weighed 11.5 oz so put some water in the jug to scrape of the milk that had clung to the sides of the jug which gave it a nice consistency. Now if I can only convince the DH that coconut milk in recipes is o'kay (neither of us are fans of dried coconut but like fresh) I would have an all round family pleaser. Thank you Sharon123, made for Make My Recipe - Edition 10.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I made the recipe as is...and thought it was bland. I ended up adding some curry powder, garam masala, and red curry paste to give it some flavor. Even so, it didn't sit well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      awesome! very nice mildcurry, easy to make

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      This was very good. I enjoyed it and so did my two picky-eaters.It was pretty easy to make and I will definitely make this again. I added diced cooked potatoes when I returned the chicken to the pan. Next time I will add more onions, bell peppers, potatoes and turn up the heat a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      I loved the flavours in this dish, didn't mind that the flavours were relatively mild..the spices gave it enough flavour and the coconut milk an excellent sauce base. I used Thai chilis and lite coconut milk. Served on jasmine rice. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      Delicious! DH has asked me to make it again next week. I didn't take the onions and then the chicken out. Just kept them all in the pan. I also didn't use cornflour and in my opinion it doesn't need it. The sauce was thick enough. We really enjoyed our dinner yesterday. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      Used the oil only to cook the onion, garlic and pepper. Did not use any additional oil for the chicken. I served it over Jasmine rice. The jalapeno peppers add just the right amount of zing without being overpowering. This made generous servings. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      Excellent stuff Sharon!!!Made this at my MIL's place and it was really devoured. Used green chillies instead of the Jalapenos though and used Indian Basil which I grow in my balcony. Did not need the extra oil as I used a non-stick wok. Thank you for a lovely Indian recipe (I must insist! - like to claim all the good ones are though ha!!!) :) Fay

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Made this recipe the other night for dinner, and it was wonderful! My kids absolutely loved it. So quick and easy. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.1
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    63%
    Total Fat 27.1 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 446.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes