17 Reviews

We thought this was very good! I halved the recipe, but did keep to the full recipe seasoning amounts. I thought I had ginger but found that I didn't and just added a soft dusting of ground ginger, and I also squeezed some fresh lime juice over top of the finished product. I would love to make this again- soon. I think the only thing different I may do is next time add some snow peas or something like that to make it a little more hearty & filling. Thanks for posting the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly December 14, 2010

I LOVE this recipe and have made it many times from my BH&G cookbook. The version I have asks for 1 T of curry powder instead of everything listed individually. But also adding the chili powder and salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotland May 19, 2010

This made for a good dinner, but honestly, I didn't think it was anything terribly special. We followed the recipe, using less chicken than called for (1 breast, 1 thigh), but keeping other measures the same and adding 1 sliced red bell pepper. I felt that the spices really didn't come through strongly enough- you could taste them, but they were kind of mild, IMO. I found that the flavors were too mild to really give this a defninitive Indian or Thai flavor. We used 2 Thai red peppers in lieu of jalepenos, but I think this would really benefit from the addition of some curry paste. This wasn't bad- just a little mild for my tastes. I guess I was expecting something with a more 'authentic' flavor. Being as its from BH&G, I maybe shouldn't have got my hopes up too high, but I do think this would make an excellent addition to the menu of a family that does not eat Thai food several times a week like we do! I think its mild enough that kids would like it, and still flavorful enough to be a treat for the adults. Thanks for the recipe, Sharon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie November 15, 2004

Loved this! Hubby loved it too, except he wanted MORE SAUCE. :) I agree that the spices were quite mild for a Thai type dish, so I added about 4-5 T. of curry powder to this recipe. I think adding sliced green onions would be a nice garnish as well (or any other veggie you like). All in all a good recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twixxy April 14, 2012

Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap January 2012- Great instructions and an enjoyable dish for the whole family. Not quite what I expected- the spices were quite mild. I think reading some of the reviews, either doubling the herbs/spices or halving the chicken is a great option. Also I wasn't sure if this dish used Mexican chili powder blend or the ground (hot) chilli powder that is used in Asian style dishes. I used two green chillis from my garden and used 1/2 fresh Italian style basil and 1/2 Thai basil. Photo also to be posted

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** January 23, 2012

I agree with Roosie's review. This was good, but a bit bland. It could use more kick. I personally won't be making it again, but I do think this would appeal to those with mainstream tastes who don't like a lot of spice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M8R-1jaely April 19, 2011

I recently made my first curry dish and loved it, so I've been looking for others to try. I'm glad I chose this one as it got a thumbs-up from everyone in the house. I seasoned the chicken and put it in the fridge for two hours before cooking it -- the spices were delicious and flavored every bite of the chicken. For my tastes, the gingerroot was a little strong, so I'm going to cut the amount in half next time, and perhaps add some minced hot pepper to mine just to give it a little more heat -- my son loved the mild heat just the way it was, though. Thanks for sharing this delightful curry recipe we all enjoyed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 27, 2010

OK - CAREFUL when adding spices. Turmeric is 1/4 not 1/2. I'm sure I don't have to tell you how I learned THAT?! Will try again and rate when I make it correctly....Also - would recommend leaving in seeds for jalepeno for at least one of the jalepenos...It could have used a bit more spice IMHO.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 July 06, 2010

WOW this was great the complexity of the spices with the taste of the fresh sweet basil really made this, the only change I made was that I was going to use a fresh chilli from the garden but after a taste test WOW that would blow the DM's socks off (taken us long enough to get her used to spicy taste but heat is another factor), so sprinkled some dried chilli flakes from last years crop of chillies. I defrosted tenderloins and one breast which ended up weighing 1.5 lbs and the 2 small cans of coconut milk I had weighed 11.5 oz so put some water in the jug to scrape of the milk that had clung to the sides of the jug which gave it a nice consistency. Now if I can only convince the DH that coconut milk in recipes is o'kay (neither of us are fans of dried coconut but like fresh) I would have an all round family pleaser. Thank you Sharon123, made for Make My Recipe - Edition 10.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 18, 2010

I made the recipe as is...and thought it was bland. I ended up adding some curry powder, garam masala, and red curry paste to give it some flavor. Even so, it didn't sit well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom April 18, 2007
Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce