Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Biscuit Topped Chicken Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Biscuit Topped Chicken Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2005

      easy to make family liked the look and taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      An excellent meal which I served with a spinach salad on the side. I used 1/4 cup flour with the base ingredients and found the consistency just right. I used splenda instead of sugar in the biscuit topping but kept everything else the same. I was so impressed with the mellow basil flavour of this topping and how it complemented the base seasonings. I did need to use a large casserole dish, my 8x8 wasn't big enough for this pie. I also rolled the dough out more thinly and it baked up very nicely. This recipe is a keeper in my books.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      very good pie ..thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      I am sorry to have to give this such a low rating. I sincerely wish I didn't have to. This was a big disappointment. It was too dry. It should have had more filling and less topping. It might have been improved if a gravy would have been made to use over the top to make it more moist. Also it would have been better if the potatoes would have been precooked because they were not quite done. (I baked it for the full 40 minutes and it was barely brown when I took it from the oven.) It seemed that the sage and basil clashed in flavor...and might have been improved with less sage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      My Dh liked this except for the fact that it didn't have any gravy. It was on the dry side. I did dot the filling with 2 tablespoons of butter before placing the biscuit topping on. The biscuit was nicely seasoned. I didn`t have a 8x8 so I used a 9x13 pan which a sprayed with canola cooking spray. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Yum. Really liked this one. I used the 1/2 cup flour for a thicker sauce and it was perfect. The biscuit topping recipe would also make great separate savory biscuits to serve with another dinner sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Comfort food indeed! This was my first experience with making chicken pot pie and it turned out fantastic. Any Diner would be proud to have this on their menu. I am looking forward to making this in individual ramekins as well. The chicken filling is very tasty. I only added some minced garlic (because I love garlic). Also note that the instructions specify “diced” potatoes. I was a little sloppy with my dicing, and some of the larger pieces did not get cooked through. I love biscuits, and this biscuit topping is great. In fact, the topping can stand on it’s own as a biscuit recipe. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      Soo sorry about the three stars but this did not turn out good for us. The potatoes and onions were still hard and crunchy, I did cook it for 50 minutes. I think the probelem was that the potatoes and onions, for that matter the whole filling should have been partially cooked, perhaps with the chicken, before putting the top on, the potatoes and onions especially. To make it even worse, the biscuit top was fine on the top, it looked done after 50 minutes, but the bottom of the biscuit was still raw. I don't know what the answer to that would be except that perhaps if the topp was cut into biscuits with space between it might have worked. It is really a shame because it could have been good, the taste was there it just wasn't cooked enough. If I were to try it again I would par boil the potatoes and saute the onions with the rest of the filling and then put the biscuits on top. Thanks for trying, really liked the concept.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Biscuit Topped Chicken Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.9
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    26%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 73.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 770.1 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites