Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-37 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2009

      I made this for lunch today and thought they were pretty good. The butter didn't completely dissolve, so next time I'll melt it first. We had them with Gruyere cheese and some for dessert with grand manier and cinnamon sugar and Nutella.They were nice and fluffy. Made for zwt5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      These were really good and really easy to put together. Not hard to cook up, even though I was afraid they were going to be. I just made them plain and sprinkled a little sugar/cinnamon mixture over them and we all scrummed them up! Thanks! Made for ZWT5 - Jammin Java Jivers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Recette absolument merveilleuse! ma famille et moi enjoyed these immensely! made a lovely alternative breakfast! made for the chow hounds for ZWT5!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      These were pretty good! The reasons I gave these a 4: the butter did not seem to blend completely... There were tiny chunks of butter in the batter, even after beating the mixture and letting it set. Did anyone else experience this? Also, it's not necessary to butter the pan as the butter in the batter made the crepes easy to lift off the pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Excellent. Easy. Fun to make. Great to eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      WOW!!! THese are INCREDIBLE!! And good for you! Low Calorie, whole wheat...can't get better than that! I didn't have an hour to wait for the batter to sit so I blendid it all in my Magic Bullet and popped it in the freezer for 20 minutes which worked like a charm! The crepes came out beyond perfect! And so delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      These didn't turn out that well for me. My batter settled a lot during the hour it set. The first 3 crepes turned into scrambled pancakes and the last 5 or so (I only got about 8 out of the batter) were way too heavy on the whole wheat flour and were tough. Not sure if my method was off, but I would not recommend this recipe for beginners.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Great recipe. Crepes were firm and even. Nobody was able to tell they were Whole wheat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      These crepes are fantastic. I made most of them with a crepe maker. They turned out light and airy with a hint of butter flavour. I made a few in a frying pan, and while they weren't as thin as those made with the crepe maker they still were wonderful. I had no problems with sticking using either method. I didn't even grease the frying pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      These were great. I didn't let them set for an hour (the kids wanted them now) and they still turned out great. I filled them with fresh berrys and cool whip. Since they had whole wheat and eggs I didn't feel bad about the cool whip! I used a wok to cook and none stuck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Worst crepes Ive EVER made, dont taste good, they stick to the pan, and they rip easily. Wanted to try a new recipe, but this one is definately not my favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      Perfect crepes! We filled ours with cottage cheese, sourcream,pow. sug and topped with strawberries - Soooooo good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Wonderful! I chose the blender method to make these, which was just so easy. After I first mixed this up, I was very concerned because the batter was just so thin, I thought it would never work. But, it thickened up enough after the rest period to make perfect tender and lacy crepes. I don't think anyone would suspect these are made with whole wheat flour and they are just delicious. I used most of them to make Cauliflower Mornay Crepes #91207, but I've still got a couple left that I am dreaming of fillings for. Easy to make, especially with your blender and very much worth it. Wonderful clear and exact directions. Just terrific. A real keeper! Thanks for another winner, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      These were awesome. I went and bought an 8" heavy duty no stick skillet (couldn't find a 7" or a crepe pan) to make these and followed your instructions to the tee. The instructions were flawless and the timing was right on the mark. I have never made crapes before. I used the whole wheat flour. Wonderful recipe. Can't wait to experiment with this one. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Ohhh delicious. Tender and perfect. I thought I was going to freeze some for future meals, but it is so easy to eat crepes for every meal and snack (really easy, with these) that that did not happen. I've filled them with butter and sugar, apricot jam, and creamed spinach (not all together) and I'll have to make them again to try mushrooms, or ham, cheese and egg, etc. etc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      Great crepes, I served them with Apircot Jam, also a Caramel Sauce Yummy. Made them just like the recipe said, didn't change a thing. Perfect crepes, Don't let the amount of steps scare you. Easy to make, just don't use over the 2 tablespoons of batter when cooking the crepes. That you Sharon, for posting a good healthy crepe recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Disappointing. I was happy to see the lower carb content, but it definitely threw the ratios off in this recipe. Definitely a bit more eggy in taste than your typical crepe. Batter was much too runny, even prepared as directed. It wasn't covering the pan or getting thick enough to even remove from the pan when cooked, so I compensated by using more batter per crepe, and I only got 5 9" crepes. And I forgot the trick of making the batter in a blender- the butter solidified when I added it to the ice-cold milk and eggs, and I had little bits of butter that didn't mix in with the electric mixer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.8
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    60%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 73.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites