37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe worked really well. The second time I tried to make it I used Egg Beaters and had trouble with the crepes getting too crispy. So, I added a couple more tablespoons of melted butter. (I wouldn't recommend that substitution to others though - stick with the original recipe.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Student January 22, 2012

Buttery, tender, and easy to work with! I melted the butter before trying to incorporate it and added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and an extra tablespoon of flour. I will definitely make these again, next time with pumpkin pie spice in the crepe and a maple cream cheese filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HomeFryMama September 07, 2011

These are easy to whip up and so delicious! I sometimes slather with butter and maple syrup. Other times make a fruit sauce for the top with whipped cream, and other times I just slather with butter and sprinkle with confectionary sugar or cinnamon and sugar. Delicious any old way! Thanks - Dave

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Fool ~ Dave May 06, 2011

Eggy and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarphine January 29, 2011

I made a double batch of this recipe to use in manicotti and followed the recipe exactly as written. The whole wheat flour gives a nutty taste to the crepes, and though I don't think it mattered for my final product, I have to disagree with other reviewers who said there wasn't a noticeable difference between "traditional" and whole wheat crepes. My picky eaters went for the manicotti, draped with bechamel and marinara, but preferred my usual recipe for dessert crepes with only lemon and sugar.

These were, for better or worse, probably the most tender crepes I have ever made. They were melt-in-your-mouth delicious and helped me keep the manicotti from being dense and heavy, which I loved. They were also sort of a challenge in the pan, which I didn't love. They ripped easily and required a very light touch when filling them - just spreading the cheese mix onto the crepes was likely to tear them.

Overall, I am likely to make these again to try to get more whole grains into my family's diet, but they won't be my only crepe recipe. And next time, I'll make sure to use a feather-light touch from the get-go to minimize "kitchen taster" mistakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinya July 20, 2010

I added just a pinch of vanilla extract, and a packet of Sun Crystals. I won't be making regular crepes again because this tastes just the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviongirl May 27, 2010

were great!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 May 05, 2010

These were wonderful. Thanks for a healthier version of crepes. My family loved it and I will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifertess February 13, 2010

I love that these use whole wheat and yet were as yummy as white flour crepes. We did not let the mix stand and had no issues. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy August 19, 2009

These were easy and delicious! I cooked these on a griddle and just had to use my spatula to keep them in place and more circular. I will definitely be using this recipe to make crepes again! Made for ZWT5, Dining Daredevils.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer June 09, 2009
Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes