Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2012

      Perfect! I make my crepes in the blender and they always turn out great. This is a nice light eggy recipe for using whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      This is a very effective recipe. However, I was out of whole wheat flour and since my children like Spelt, I substituted it instead. I had to double the spelt since it isn't as thick as whole wheat so I used 2/3 instead of the original 1/3. I let the batter sit almost an hour because I had to make accessories and they were thick enough to flip easily. I am not a crepe aficionado so I might have committed a crepe crime with texture and flavor, but my family loved them and that is all that matters when I cook. (I am the husband)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Love this recipe. We have made a few times now. My fiancé and I try to limit any white flour and products as much as we can so we were happy to find this whole wheat recipe! Honestly we like these a lot more than the traditional white flour crepes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Trying eat cleaner but still enjoy favorites, I chose this recipe because of the whole wheat flour. I made the recipe with a few changes; used almond milk instead of regular milk, and added a touch of vanilla. We had them with fresh strawberries from the garden and ate the entire recipe. <br/><br/>They are a bit more "meaty" than your regular crepe in that they have more texture. I liked it, but it was a funky feeling at first. I'm not sure about them being "too eggy". They were perfect to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      This is a great recipe for low carbers! I assumed that the butter was to be melted so went with that and it worked out perfectly. I made a pizza style filling for my daughter's lunch, and she loved it. I can't wait to experiment with more fillings! Thanks for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      I have never made a crepe recipe where the first one turned out perfectly, but this one did! It is my new go-to for crepes. Can't wait to try it with manicotti! I also melted the butter. I didn't understand how you were supposed to incorporate it if it was cold. Worked perfectly. I also added a bit more flour as they seemed a little thin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Having just come back from France, I was really excited to use this recepy but rather disappointed by the taste. I followed the ingredients exactly, only substituting vegetable oil for butter due to not having any at the moment. The cr?pes tasted way too eggy. I like my cr?pes to taste more neutral, so that I can eat them salty or sweet, depending on what I want to eat them with. The egg flavor would mask any other flavor from the filling. I had to add more milk and whole wheat flour, as well as a bit of agave and salt. They came out significantly better and no longer eggy.

      The original recipe also had a very thin consistency. I like my cr?pes to fold without breaking, so more flour should do the job.

      Another tip: make sure your pan is oiled after each cr?pe and that your heat doesn't go too high so that they don't get crispy but remain soft.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      I am baffled by the numerous positive reviews. I made the recipe as directed, with 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour (!?!) and let it stand for 1 hour. I've made crepes many times and was expecting a thin batter, but this batter was no where near thick enough. I had to add a lot of white flour at the last minute. Has some change been made to the recipe???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      These are so good! My first time making crepes, I was worried they would be hard to make but these were easier than pancakes :)

      @Kath2226 reread step 8, you didn't stir after chilling :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      Thank you for a very easy to make healthy alternative to regular crepes. This is now my official crepe recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This recipe worked really well. The second time I tried to make it I used Egg Beaters and had trouble with the crepes getting too crispy. So, I added a couple more tablespoons of melted butter. (I wouldn't recommend that substitution to others though - stick with the original recipe.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Buttery, tender, and easy to work with! I melted the butter before trying to incorporate it and added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and an extra tablespoon of flour. I will definitely make these again, next time with pumpkin pie spice in the crepe and a maple cream cheese filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      These are easy to whip up and so delicious! I sometimes slather with butter and maple syrup. Other times make a fruit sauce for the top with whipped cream, and other times I just slather with butter and sprinkle with confectionary sugar or cinnamon and sugar. Delicious any old way! Thanks - Dave

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Eggy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I made a double batch of this recipe to use in manicotti and followed the recipe exactly as written. The whole wheat flour gives a nutty taste to the crepes, and though I don't think it mattered for my final product, I have to disagree with other reviewers who said there wasn't a noticeable difference between "traditional" and whole wheat crepes. My picky eaters went for the manicotti, draped with bechamel and marinara, but preferred my usual recipe for dessert crepes with only lemon and sugar.

      These were, for better or worse, probably the most tender crepes I have ever made. They were melt-in-your-mouth delicious and helped me keep the manicotti from being dense and heavy, which I loved. They were also sort of a challenge in the pan, which I didn't love. They ripped easily and required a very light touch when filling them - just spreading the cheese mix onto the crepes was likely to tear them.

      Overall, I am likely to make these again to try to get more whole grains into my family's diet, but they won't be my only crepe recipe. And next time, I'll make sure to use a feather-light touch from the get-go to minimize "kitchen taster" mistakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I added just a pinch of vanilla extract, and a packet of Sun Crystals. I won't be making regular crepes again because this tastes just the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      were great!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      These were wonderful. Thanks for a healthier version of crepes. My family loved it and I will be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I love that these use whole wheat and yet were as yummy as white flour crepes. We did not let the mix stand and had no issues. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      These were easy and delicious! I cooked these on a griddle and just had to use my spatula to keep them in place and more circular. I will definitely be using this recipe to make crepes again! Made for ZWT5, Dining Daredevils.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Whole Wheat French Crepes

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.8
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    60%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 73.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites