Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic White Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic White Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2002

      The cake turned out quite moist, but the recipe contained far too much butter for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      This was posted in response to my request for a good white cake to bake for my son's 1st birthday. This cake was so good and moist and it was a big hit with everyone, even the birthday boy. thanks Steve for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      This is the most wonderful white cake I have ever made! I used it for my dad's fiance's birthday cake, and put a mango filling in it, and everyone loved it! This one is sticking around for when I make my wedding cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      Thanks Steve. I tried it last night and everbody found it so moist and delicious. I only decreased the amount of butter to 2/3, and the taste was still so perfect. Next time I will cut a little more from the butter. And I prepared the frosting from the whipping cream, cheese and eggs (like the tiramisu frosting) which gave it a fantastic taste. This cake was really a hit for everbody at the dinner, and two of the friends already took the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Great cake, simple to make. I added 1 t vanilla extract and 1 t lemon extract to give it a citrus flavor. Then frosted it with Sprinkles Vanilla buttercream frosting recipe I found on recipezaar. Next time I might fill my 9 inch layers with seedless raspberry jam or Sour cream cake filling to go with the lemon theme.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This was an amazing, dense white cake. I used regular flour, regular sugar and salted butter. Everyone agreed that this was the best white cake they ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Nice fluffy white cake. Used to make cakeballs with a vanilla buttercream.... thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I made this cake for a sweet 16 party and I have to say that it came out great. The cake was for 100 people and they all thought that it was wonderful. Thank you very much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      Have to agree with some of the previous comments - the butter needs to be cut down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      I was very happy with the way this cake turned out. I have been looking for a good white cake for a long time. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic White Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.5
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    32%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 297.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    101%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites