Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic White Bread (For Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic White Bread (For Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2012

      I was about to throw out my bread machine, then I tried this recipe and created a perfect loaf of white bread that my whole family loved. I have the Black & Decker B6000C, and every loaf I made (3 before this one), was either too high and stuck to the top, or got stuck on the sides/bottom and was mangled coming out of the machine. For this loaf I used the 2lb, light setting, added a 15 minute delay time (as instructed in the recipe), used a plastic bread knife around the edges after backing was complete, then jiggled the heck out of the bread pan to release the loaf and it came out perfectly. Yeah, I can finally make a great loaf of white bread. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This time is was soft & awesome!!! I divided my dough & made a loaf & 7 rolls. This is DH's favorite bread ,It's now made everyday

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Can't believe I haven't rated this - I've made this many times, bread and rolls and it's very TASTY! No need for BF, I just use AP and increase the yeast to 2-1/4 teaspoons (one packet dry, active). We LOVE this recipe! Rises like it will carry us away, nice, yeasty flavor and makes for very fluffy rolls. I always use the ABM for mixing and the first rise, remove it, roll it out with the rolling pin, then roll it up into a large loaf or ball it up into about 12 large rolls. Love this recipe for making my own dry breadcrumbs, too, if there is any left over (not very often!). Super! Thanks for posting a really easy great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2004

      This recipe turned our perfectly. I have been searching for a basic bread that did not crumble or fall apart. I let the machine do the mixing and baking and followed the instructions to the letter. Thanks Pamela, I'll be making it often. The family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      I've just finished taking out my second loaf of bread and I am still disappointed with the gnarly surface so will try to decrease the flour and increase the water as the instruction book suggests. I am satisfied with the inside texture. I appreciate all your reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      I tried this today in my Black and Decker B6000C and it worked GREAT! The one that comes with my book is only 3lb loaf and it sticks to the top of the lid. This 2lb one worked perfectly. Tasted great, and I am VERY pleased with it.<br/><br/>Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      I agree with cindyp1958, this is a great, great, recipe. I too, had given up hope in producing a decent sandwich bread (unless you bought a 4.00 loaf from Wegmans) in my bread machine. All of them were just awful - and worse by the next day. This really holds up well, and it perfect for anything you might chose. I did not change one thing. I wanted to test the recipe fully.....and this is just simply a wonderful recipe that gives you a suburb loaf of bread. Thanks, Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Love this recipe for my bread machine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I've been looking for a breadmaker recipe that matched the one I had from an old Proctor and Silex book that came with my MIL's breadmaker. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      First time ever making bread in my bread machine, and it turned out perfect! Very yummy...I may have to make two loaves a day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I totally omit the powdered milk (my daughter is allergic) and it still turns out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This was truly a failure-free recipe for me! I've tried several basic white bread recipes meant for a breadmaker and was disappointed in all of them. This recipe came out quite spectacular! Great consistency and a decent size loaf. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I used this for the buns and they were AWESOME!!! I think i baked a little too long but they were still amazing thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      THIS WAS THE BEST WHITE Bread. I have tried soo many recipes. even the recipe that came with my kenwood wasnt as good as this one too.. I made the rolls as well they came out great! Thanks Pamela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This same recipe came with our breadmaker, Regal Kitchen Pro. It is our ol' standby. We use the rapid setting and it turns out perfect. Hubby can even makes it. Thanks Pamela for posting, now I won't lose track either...lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Nice bread. I loved the crust the most, very crunchy. I just thought it turned out a little crumbly for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Awesome !!!!! Was craving some good ol home made bread today and this filled the bill. Thanks Pam :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      I hadn't used my bread machine in a very long time, until I came upon this recipe. I used it and the bread turned out great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Pamela: First want to thank you, in our busy home, indeed the booklet that came with my black n decker horizontal bread machine went missing...was wonderful to find one of the many recipes that we loved and lost. Chance...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic White Bread (For Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (855 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2051.0
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    14%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 76.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3771.3 mg
    157%
    Total Carbohydrate 378.1 g
    126%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    54%
    Sugars 20.0 g
    80%
    Protein 54.4 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites