22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you. I made this once as is, and the next time I added 1 Tablespoon brown sugar and 1/2t. to 3/4 t. of vanilla. It just added a bit of sweetness. My husband loves it, plus it is EASY to throw together on a saturday morning. Even the night before you can mix all the dry ingredients and place a cover over the bowl, so you only have to add the wet ingredients in the morning for an even FASTER, recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheNovakFamily June 23, 2006

This recipe did not dissapoint. Very nice texture, good flavor. In the middle of making them, I found I was out of baking powder. Used only the baking soda and they turned out fine. I'm saving this one for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am February 27, 2011

Very yummy. It made six waffles, so any more than 2 people and you might want to double the recipe. My roommate and i ate the whole batch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrij September 14, 2008

So great and easy for when the kids just have to have waffles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beerchef April 22, 2008

would not make these again. followed directions to a T, but thought it was lacking something. Tried adding vanilla and cinnamon, helped a little. guess i'll have to keep looking. thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
auggiebelle January 01, 2008

i had rated the wrong waffle recipe and realized THIS was the recipe i tried! well this is our go to recipe. great taste and kids love em'. best of all it freezes well, unlike some of the recipes i tried on here. still tastes fresh when u re-toast it in the toaster. great recipe! thanks for sharing! will go into my favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies November 16, 2007

I'm not much for trying something new, so when the BF asked for waffles I chickened out with the excuse that I didn't have a waffle iron...When he bought me one, I said I didn't have the time or patience, LOL...This morning I decided I'd put it off long enough and it was time to stop being such a chook...VOILA...I now make waffles!!! wooHOO...UPDATE: Just thought I should update this review to include that the leftover waffles frozen, to test for OAMC worthiness and passed with flying colors...They were popped into the toaster, still frozen and they reheated well...Upon tasting they were found to be just as good reheated as they were when originally prepared! Thank you for posting this nice base recipe! I'm already looking at other recipes to see where I can take it from here...In the meantime, this recipe has been placed on my breakfast OAMC list for future use :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas September 25, 2007

Light, airy waffles. Made them especially for the kids and they gobbled them down. Leftovers freeze and reheat well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 25, 2006

Thanks for this great recipe. We quadruple the batter, cook tonnes of waffles and then freeze them. Then every morning we take out a couple pop them in the toaster.....and presto.....a great breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShezzaDezza October 26, 2006

My kids loved them! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margemommy October 16, 2006
Basic Waffles