Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Waffles

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2006

      Thank you. I made this once as is, and the next time I added 1 Tablespoon brown sugar and 1/2t. to 3/4 t. of vanilla. It just added a bit of sweetness. My husband loves it, plus it is EASY to throw together on a saturday morning. Even the night before you can mix all the dry ingredients and place a cover over the bowl, so you only have to add the wet ingredients in the morning for an even FASTER, recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This recipe did not dissapoint. Very nice texture, good flavor. In the middle of making them, I found I was out of baking powder. Used only the baking soda and they turned out fine. I'm saving this one for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Very yummy. It made six waffles, so any more than 2 people and you might want to double the recipe. My roommate and i ate the whole batch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      So great and easy for when the kids just have to have waffles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      would not make these again. followed directions to a T, but thought it was lacking something. Tried adding vanilla and cinnamon, helped a little. guess i'll have to keep looking. thanks for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      i had rated the wrong waffle recipe and realized THIS was the recipe i tried! well this is our go to recipe. great taste and kids love em'. best of all it freezes well, unlike some of the recipes i tried on here. still tastes fresh when u re-toast it in the toaster. great recipe! thanks for sharing! will go into my favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I'm not much for trying something new, so when the BF asked for waffles I chickened out with the excuse that I didn't have a waffle iron...When he bought me one, I said I didn't have the time or patience, LOL...This morning I decided I'd put it off long enough and it was time to stop being such a chook...VOILA...I now make waffles!!! wooHOO...UPDATE: Just thought I should update this review to include that the leftover waffles frozen, to test for OAMC worthiness and passed with flying colors...They were popped into the toaster, still frozen and they reheated well...Upon tasting they were found to be just as good reheated as they were when originally prepared! Thank you for posting this nice base recipe! I'm already looking at other recipes to see where I can take it from here...In the meantime, this recipe has been placed on my breakfast OAMC list for future use :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Light, airy waffles. Made them especially for the kids and they gobbled them down. Leftovers freeze and reheat well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Thanks for this great recipe. We quadruple the batter, cook tonnes of waffles and then freeze them. Then every morning we take out a couple pop them in the toaster.....and presto.....a great breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      My kids loved them! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      I have just purchased a waffle maker after a visit to the USA and being served waffles for breakfast. This was the second recipe that I had tried, and the family voted it the best so far! I added a little extra sugar and served with icecream and maple syrup. Very yummy - thankyou!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Had to re-review this..I made again today and with a few additions they were amazing. I doubled the recipe added 1/4 cup brown sugar, a couple of dashes cinnamon, and 2 chopped up apples. YUMMMEEEE.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. I loved that I don't need to faff around separating eggs in the morning (not my best time!) and that I always have all the ingredients to hand. I used self raising flour and omitted the baking powder - still worked perfectly. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I really dislike waffles of all kinds, but dh loves them. He requested them for breakfast this morning so I came here to find a simple, quick recipe with ingredients I always keep on hand. This is what I ended up with. He loved them - and I didn't think they were so bad either, even though I usually won't eat waffles. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      I made these with gluten-free all purpose flour and they were wonderful! Light and delicious. I like that they are made entirely of ingredients I always have on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      thank you for posting this recipe! i made these for sunday breakfast for my hubbie and actually woke him up with the delicious smell of them cooking! very easy, lots of flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      This Basic Waffle recipe was light and fluffy and golden brown. I used my Belgian Waffle Maker and made a dozen and froze them. They have a really good flavor. Homestyle old fashioned taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      An awesome basic waffle recipe. I've decided to make a ton of these and just freeze them because they are SO much better than the store-bought frozen kind. I loved the crispness and simple taste. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      I have used this general purpose recipe for several years, which lets me add ingredients or substitute ingredients (like buckwheat flour for regular flour, almond milk instead of dairy milk) with great success. Another nice thing about this batter recipe is that it doesn't stick to my 1930's vintage waffle iron like some other recipes do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Tasty, but very dense. If I made again I would likely reduce the veg oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.2
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    42%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 323.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes