Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2011

      Everyone loves these! We are not vegans, but this is my favorite cupcake recipe. They are moist, light and way better than anything out of a box. Plus I can make them with what I have on hand. I have used all kinds of milk for these (almond, coconut, soy or cow's). Oh and the book is amazing too. yum yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I have been using this recipe for over a year and always have great results! My daughter has milk and egg allergies so this lets her enjoy a treat that she usually can't have. I'm a vegetarian so I love it for that reason as well. Also try using dark chocolate cocoa! Makes it even better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I was skeptical because the batter was so runny but they came out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      I've made this recipe numerous times, it's definitely a favorite of mine. I've used the regular buttercream frosting, chocolate buttercream, peanut butter frosting, and also added mint to the batter to make Chocolate Mint Cupcakes. If you don't have this cookbook already, get it! :) There are some other great recipes in there. My favorite are the Elvis Cupcakes (I have the recipe posted on here). My 2 photos on this recipe: one is with the peanut butter frosting, the other is mint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      These were great. I used coconut milk instead of soy & added a bit of ginger, cinnamon & star anise. Super yum & its always fun to whip out the vegan card after everybody's raving. I am totally going to buy that book now. (like I needed an excuse...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Thee best vegan cupcakes I've made so far. Even my mom, a non-veg*n, loved 'em. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Fabulous! I really must get this book because everything I've tried from it has been great. These are easy to make, light and fluffy, but still rich and chocolately. I did take other vegan cupcake advice to not overmix the batter. I just folded the wet into the dry until fully combined and then got it in the oven asap. Iced them with Quick, Buttercream (Vegan) Icing from Longmeadow Farm. Perfect...I can't imagine anyone is going to know if these are vegan are not....they're just good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      So delicious and moist. My non-vegan family members gobbled up the whole batch. I used less sugar and substituted agave nectar for the sugar I omitted. Love these with the vegan vanilla frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Wonderfully Easy and Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Quick and easy to made. Too tasty though so they didn't last long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I made these today with a vegan "buttercream" icing and we DOGGED them! Really good-- the cupcakes themselves aren't too sweet, so they pair very well with a sugary icing. Although, truthfully, we liked them enough to eat them alone! Thanks for posting. The results prompted me to order the book :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      The only vegan cupcakes that worked for me. I frosted these with orange icing for Halloween. These cupcakes are very light and foolproof. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Delicious and moist cupcakes! I also have the book, but looked for the recipe here to see nutrition and reviews. After enjoying these cupcakes, I'm wondering why any recipes would need dairy or eggs -- these are fantastic without them. I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract (like in the book). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This was my first time baking vegan. It was easy and very tasty. My friends couldnt tell the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      This is a very light and flavorful cupcake. I have made this recipe twice now and both have come out completly identical. I would not change a single thing. I don't have a standard size cupcake pan, so I picked up those paper w/foil cups, and I just put them on a baking sheet and it worked great! Make along with Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting... YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      These turned out great! They're delicious with a light texture. I definitely recommend only filling the cups 3/4 full - these really rose for me. Thanks for posting it on Zaar since I don't have the book yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      These are very yummy cupcakes! Nice rich chocolatey flavor with a great color and texture. Ones I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.8
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    38%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 153.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites