Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Vanilla Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Vanilla Frosting

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2012

      thank you so very much for this recipe. o.k., i just have one thing to say, this frosting was simply superb. very easy and quick to make. and tasty too. now why would some people say it was to sweet.not true at all. it was perfect for us. the second time i made it, i did add 1 more tbsp of milk to thin it out...made like a glaze. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Thank you, thank you for keeping it so simple! A really tasty recipe that i improvised upon by adding a little cocoa powder to for a quick and easy chocolate frosting! Thanks again, we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      TERRIBLE dosen't work or spread properly dont make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Yuck.. This frosting is too thick too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      simple easy recipe. Decent considering time spent and simple ingredients

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      wow great i goes great with lemon cupcakes and i would totally make it again simple and easy and donn't forget delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Amazing!! I had all the ingredients here at home and it was quick and easy! To the people who didn't like it and said it was too thick, try adding a little more milk and mixing more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2014

      This formula is perfectly fine. It you can write a review, then you're smart enough to know that you can heat a simple frosting -like this up- to thin it out. I did 4 increments of 6 seconds on the gas stove and it was the perfect consistency. Completely fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      This was an excellent frosting. I only used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and added 1/2 cup of cream cheese and put in fridge to chill for 2 hours. It was delicious for my 24 chocolate cupcakes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      This frosting is super duper sweet so I recommend you add about three heaping dollops of sour cream. It is much nicer then. I like the simplicity of it though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      For a powdered sugar recipe, I really wasn't expecting much. I couldn't drive to the store, so I figured it was worth a shot. I normally don't add the butter or margarine variation though, so this was a thrilling experiment. I was pleasantly surprised by the texture and flavor of this frosting. It had a nice medium-paint-thick consistency (definitely not in the glaze category as most powdered sugar icings are). It was smooth as ironed sheets and had a nice sugary-vanilla flavor. I refrigerated the leftover frosting, and I think I liked it better cold for breakfast this morning. The color was a little off due to the vanilla extract, but food coloring could fix that if you are all fancy and stuff. I paired this frosting with an easy cupcake recipe, found here: http://www.food.com/recipe/simple-white-cupcakes-172550

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      I tried this recipe he other day and right away I knew that there was WAY to much powdered sugar in it. So when I made this frosting, I cut the sugar in half and added a few drops of almond extract to give it a little flavor. Everyone loved it after I added the extract and I will probably use it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Nice and simple. But also VERY powdered sugary-ie needed a little more butter. And Cream Cheese to make it perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      This is a decent recipe for the time and ingredients required.
      Those who are complaining about the thickness must not have used an electric mixer, which is a necessity for light and fluffy confections. It was still a bit thick and powdery, and did not yield enough for my 2-layer cake, so I quadrupled the recipe, and then added a splash more of milk (about 1-2 tbs more) to the mix. It was still a bit powdery, but it worked well with my strawberry cake. For those of you using this on drier cakes, try adding even more milk to the mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      This recipe is perfect for an 8x8 pan of brownies. I added some melted chocolate chips and a teaspoon of peppermint extract and it is so good. My sister thought it was a new store bought frosting. It's really smooth and creamy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Kid approved! Easy recipe, and my kids loved it. I used whipping cream instead of milk and that seemed to make all the difference. Added a little more cream then called for to make a thinner consistency. Overall great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      I made this within 2 minutes!!! It was a lifesaver as I did not have any icings in the house. I just added 1 extra tablespoon of milk and it iced a 2 layer cake. Next time I will add root beer flavoring to make a vanilla root beer cake.You can use any flavoring you like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Good foundation. Basic and useful BUT I changed/added a lot to this: 2 tablespoons of butter for each cup of powdered sugar. I made a lot of icing today, probably used 10 cups of powdered sugar, 2 and 1/2 sticks of butter, 6 dollops of sour cream and 8 oz of cream cheese. It is DELICIOUS. added vanilla to my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Very easy, lovely texture. Little sugar headache just from licking the beaters though! I'm a fan of a cream cheese frosting, but will come back to this in a pinch when the stores are closed for an ice storm- like today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Vanilla Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1162.8
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    18%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 65.3 mg
    21%
    Sodium 222.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 241.1 g
    80%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 235.0 g
    940%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites