Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Vanilla Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Vanilla Custard

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2013

      Just a comment in response to previous comments- this *is* custard. Custard is milk thickened with eggs. The cooking method doesn't matter- it can be baked or cooked on a stovetop. The consistency doesn't matter- custard can be thick and creamy or thin and pourable (like the custard "creme anglaise"). It doesn't matter if it is cooked in a bain marie or not. Thickeners such as cornstarch are often added to custards as in recipes for pastry cream (such as go in eclairs). The *eggs* are what sets custards apart, and any good chef knows that, as a chef is supposed to know 100 ways to cook an egg, one for every pleat in the chef's hat. This *may* or *may not* be an outstanding recipe, but one thing is for sure: it's a custard recipe. But don't take my word for it. Look it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      This is good, but it's not custard. It's old-fashioned pudding. Custard is much different in consistency-- silkier -- no cornstarch to thicken it and is baked in a bain marie (a larger pan with hot water). If you are having trouble with this scorching in your pan, try using a double boiler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      This was so good. I made some for my 2 year old and he ate 2 bowls. I recommend straining the eggs before you put them in and straining the custard before you chill it. Make sure u get the custard to pudding thickness while you are cooking it because it doesn't really thicken in the fridge. Such a yummy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      Gardenpoet is right, this is vanilla PUDDING...custard is baked in a double boiler in the oven for 50-60 minutes, if you try to pass this of as custard to a chef, they will laugh you out of the kitchen. Custard & CR?ME BR?L?E are closely related as they are both cooked the same way & time, & the recipe is similar while neither use thickening.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Wow this is an easy fast recipe. Made it for our 25-mth old twin girls during Xmas holidays in Lebanon in my MIL's very basic kitchen. Reduced sugar to 2T and poured over sliced banana. Even my hubby was loving it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This is an easy recipe for really good custard. I made it according to directions, and didn't even need to strain the egg mixture. However, I'm not overly fond of vanilla, so I added some orange extract (about 3/4 teaspoon, to taste) that went really well with the amount of vanilla in it. Definitely a recipe to hang on to. This will go well with anything pumpkin for the holidays.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Mam, I'm speechless. Your bread pudding and this wonderful custard make a great combination. It's truly a warm experience. In fact it can make one forget a miserable day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      My partner made this with no cooking experience and no trouble. It was a tasty, no fuss, quick custard to make. What I like about it is that it is made with milk alone, rather than half cream (I used skim milk); that it uses whole eggs instead of just egg yolks (less waste, less fuss); and that it isn't too sweet (next time will try with a natural sugar substitute). For guests or a special occasion you might want to try a richer, more complex custard (I agree with below poster that this is a custard not pudding - at least in Australian terminology... there are many types/ways of cooking custard), however, for a quick custard anyone can make, poured over poached pears on a cold winter night - this did the trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      Easy and delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      This is actually a pudding. Custard is made with milk (and/or cream), egg yolks, sugar, spice. The more yolks, the thicker it will be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      I really enjoyed the ease of the custard recipe! The plain nature of the recipe lends itself well to modification (I added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips, 1tsp cardamom, 1tsp nutmeg, and 1tsp cinnamon to sweeten the deal). Best custard I have had in years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Yummy. It's custard in my books, but I'm English, so what could I know about food...<br/><br/>I substituted 4 tbsp. flour for the cornstarch, added just a dash of vanilla, and threw in a little sprinkle of nutmeg and a cracked cardamom pod just after the eggs were stirred in.<br/><br/>It turned out very tasty, but too sweet for me. Next time I'll halve the sugar. There WILL be a next time!<br/><br/>Great recipe, thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      This recipe is very easy to follow for a beginner, although I personally had problems with it the first time. I had the heat up too high and I kept ignoring it for too long so it came out lumpy, but it still tasted okay. My second and third attempts were much more successful. Tastes very good when stuffed into crepes or other pastries, but not so much on it's own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Quick, easy and tasty. I made 1/2 the recipe for oatmeal creme brulee. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      this is the way english custard is made, this is a custard recipe as some one stated it old fashioned custard pudding, no its custard that thick stuff is pudding. I am glad to have a proper reciepe my mum was english and she never showed us how to make this. Since she has passed away I am very happy to have the correct recipe. I read the custard powder ingredients and its cornflour salt and vanilla, I would rather make it from scratch. thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This turned out really well. I added some rice from a takeout Chinese dinner to make it into rice pudding. To my surprise it is delicious. This is a very good basic pudding/custard! My goodness, what is all the fuss about? Just eat and enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      To those who say this recipe is a pudding and not a custard...I'm sorry, you are incorrect. This recipe IS a custard, because it contains eggs. A pudding does not contain eggs. The combination of eggs and cornstarch (or flour) is a very common principle for pastry custards. The starch in the cornstarch or flour stabilizes the egg yolk to prevent curdling and preserving texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      This recipe is what I always hoped vanilla custard would taste like, but it never quite hit the mark till now. It came out so creamy and simple, and passing the eggs through a sieve first was a good idea to insure against any little stringy gummy bits. I'm eating it right now, this one's a keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      If I were looking for a vanilla pudding, I would probably give this more stars. This is not custard. This does not look like or taste like custard. When I follow a recipe for "Basic Vanilla Custard", I expect to have custard at the end of the process, not pudding. Since I wanted custard, I have wasted two eggs, two cups of milk, and all the rest of the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Nummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Vanilla Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.5
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    31%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 110.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 95.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites