Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Trifle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Trifle Recipe

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2010

      Hi BirdyBaker. I like all the options you included with this recipe. You inspired me to create something a little unique. I used milano cookies instead of cake because that is what I had on hand. I also used strawberries and blueberries, white chocolate jello pudding, and cool whip. I followed your directions on layering and my first trifle turned out really nice. Thanks for providing this basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      So yummy. i made the black forest trifle for my Christmas dessert. i used leftover, frozen, homemade chocolate cake, soy pudding, and a coffee/amaretto syrup instead of the sherry. The raspberries definitely help cut down on the sweetness. To die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Delicious! I did substitute lady fingers instead of cake, but I didn't care for them at all: next time I will definitely use a white cake. I used white chocolate pudding, white grape raspberry juice, and peaches with berries for the fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Excellent! I made the strawberry one and added strawberry jello to it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      excellent basic trifle recipe. Great recipe to use when there are left over dry cakes/bars. It's easy to make since everything's ready-made. Just have to mix them all up. Since I had so much apples left over from Rosh Hashana, I cubed some of them and layered them with the left over banana bread and whipped cream/pudding. Excellent way to spice up dry leftovers! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

    • on January 30, 2007

      This is a great recipe and it's always the first to go at a party. I've made this both with store bought and home-made angel food cake. I omit the sherry and use fresh strawberries, raspberries and blackberries instead of frozen. The Bird's custard and real whipped cream make all the difference in the world. It's always a hit, especially at summer parties. Thanks, Birdy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      This was a really nice dessert for brunch this morning. I scaled the recipe back a bit, since there were only 6 of us, and used 1/2 an angel food cake, 1 box of pudding, 1/2 container of cool whip, but still 2 lbs of fresh fruit (strawberries and blueberries). It was very light and refreshing, as well as super easy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I made this yesterday, my family loved it! I used bananas, strawberries and white chocolate pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      This was so easy, quick, no baking and very light. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      I've used this recipe many times!! When made for adults, I use blackberry liquor for the liquid. If kids are enjoying, I make one with the liquor and the other with berry/or complimentary juice for the fruit used. This is a must have and must make recipe!!! Thanks for posting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Thanks for this! My gran was from England and ALWAYS made AWESOME trifle! She used stale Pound cake soaked with sherry. She also used Bird's Custard!, strawberries and REAL whipped cream! This is YUMMY! There are TONS of recipes out there for trifle, but NOTHING beats the ORIGINAL English version! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Trifle Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.6
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    54%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cake

    instant pudding mix

    frozen fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites