8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe worked better for me with powdered pectin. I added the pectin and brought the tea to a boil, then added the sugar. The jelly set beautifully.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marylouiseW June 01, 2011

This is such a GREAT recipe, wish I could give it 10 GOLD stars. I did use powdered pectin, it seems to work best for me and this set up almost before I could get it into jars, this morning it's lovely and the scent - OMG!!! I used a high quality Chai Tea and added one of a Ginger Tea just for the flavor. Did not use any juice, just upped the water. Can't wait to have this on scones, yum!!! I'm going to try this with some other types of tea soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 06, 2013

tried to make this jelly twice and both times it never set up I followed the directions to a T and it just stayed liquid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbla August 18, 2013

I've been jams & jelies ofr years, but I tried this jelly three times, and got syrup every time. Wish I knew what was going wrong. I love the idea of tea jelly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happyhearth July 18, 2013

Made this with TAZO Passion Herbal Infusion turned out awesome. Did not use any juice. It is sweet but has a tang to it. Excited to use for Holiday gifts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinatoona October 24, 2012

This recipe proved to be touchy for me. I made four separate batches (followed the recipe to the letter) and only one set properly. Even after waiting two weeks and reprocessing a batch, they still remained as syrup. I can't imagine the type of tea would make a difference but I made orange spice, corn (yes, corn tea!), apricot and red lavender. The red lavender, which was the only one that set up, was lovely. Guess I'll have to keep trying with different flavors!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoodnPlentiful February 06, 2011

I haven't made jelly since I had to finish making strawberry jam when my oldest sister went into labor.....that was a mighty loooong time ago. That baby is now a grandmother! Anyway, I used peach passion tea and key lime juice. I know it sounds weird, but it is delicious!! I really like tart tastes! Thnx for sharing your recipe, dividend. Made for Comfort Cafe Snow Queen Chalet Jan 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter January 28, 2010

This is a unique jelly. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor. For the juice, I used white cranberry peach flavor. This recipe made 3 half pints of jelly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~kdp February 17, 2006
Basic Tea Jelly