11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good. I added chopped apples, and fresh sage and thyme from the garden rather than poultry seasoning. Because I was making them for Thanksgiving I always try to make as much as I can ahead of time, so I baked them two days before, stuck them in the freezer and when needed, just reheated for about 15 minutes with foil overtop. They were nice and crispy. We did our turkey on the rotisserie in the BBQ. I do prefer a stuffing outside the bird anyway and will surely make these again, perhaps adding a couple of other of your variations. Thanks foodtvfan!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark October 16, 2007

Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup 2013 tag game and this was a hit. I did use some garlic (we love garlic and homemade chicken broth) but other than that followed the instructions. Going to be making these again soon. Thank you for posting. I want to make some extra and put in the freezer for busy times like a previous reviewer did.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf September 24, 2013

I veganized these and they turned out really well! I used Earth Balance margarine for butter. 1/4 cup apple sauce and 1 tbsp corn starch in place of the egg, and just plain water for the broth. The spices were more then sufficient. Added chopped nuts and dried cranberries. Would definitely make these again. Super simple and yummy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 24, 2011

I had a couple random bags of leftover hamburger and hotdog rolls in the bottom drawer of my freezer. I needed something to do with them. This was perfect! I had everything on hand and didn't need to go to the store. My kids (the taste testers - ages 4 and 7) loved them. I will make these again for company sometime.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"Colleen" March 29, 2011

We never seen to have enough stuffing so made this on the side. It was easy to make and we all enjoyed them. I followed the recipe exactly as written.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 29, 2009

We absolutely loved these ! This recipe is definitely a keeper ! I didn't add any additions, and let them bake until they were crispy. Next time, I will try them with summer savory instead of poultry seasoning.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicster8 May 21, 2006

We love stuffing especially the edges and with this you have mostly edges. The only thing I would do differently, is to put in a bit less celery. We seldom oven roast a turkey-generally grill ours so this fits right into our lifestyle. I froze the leftovers. Thanks foodtvfan for sharing a wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal November 13, 2011

These were very good and great to make when not cooking a whole bird. My family's traditional stuffing has bacon in it so that's what I did. Saute'd some right up with the celery and onion. Chef error is I didn't reduce the butter by half (did not calculate the bacon grease) and totally forgot the egg to help bind the balls. That said, We gave it 4 stars because although the taste is great, it does not equal stuffing the bird. We would still make again, and recommend to others to try. We got 6 generous sized balls. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 26, 2011

Perfect! Made them for Thanksgiving, they were a big hit. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KR31 December 01, 2013

These were good. I enjoyed that they were different from traditional stuffing and very easy to prepare. I enjoyed them, while my kids thought they were ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onebusymom2013 October 06, 2013
Basic Stuffing Balls With Variations