10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Too much cider vinegar. I would have put more sugar in it. With some tweaking, it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paradox June 30, 2013

What a lovely surprise! I made this salad tonight and it was lovely! I made as listed, but substituted Truvia for the sugar. I also added about one tablespoon more of olive oil to the dressing. If you allow the mixture to boil a little while, the mixture did thicken and lost some of the pungent cider vinegar smell. My DH was skeptical, but ended up having seconds and requesting it to be put on the menu. He even suggested that we make it for a dinner party for his parents! Will make again and look forward to trying variations as listed in some of the reviews! Thanks for sharing Slatts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Wife :D March 24, 2011

This was great I found it a bit tart but it didnt stop me from finishing my plate . My husband liked it as he doent like sweet dressings. I added some walnuts to it. I will make this again . Made for Zwt6 for the Xtra hot dishes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda May 27, 2010

This is really tasty, and super easy. I like the richness of the bacon with the spinach, and the little hint of sugar. I'm thinking it would be really easy to adapt this to match the flavors of many kinds of meals by changing up the vinegar, or adding various herbs and spices. Very, very nice. We did find that the vinegar is a bit strong if the dressing is very hot, and allowing it to cool for a few minutes before tossing it with the spinach made it much milder, which we liked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie May 23, 2010

Thanks for the great recipe. I added some walnuts, craisins and cheese to this after mixing. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom April 30, 2010

Made as written. I felt the dressing was far too vinegary tasting and I love a dressing with more vinegar. I tried to add a bit more sugar but that didn't help. Next time I will add more oil and see if that helps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour January 29, 2010

I love Spinach Salad, and this was no exception. The only thing I would add is a few freshly sliced mushrooms. Wonderful salad. Made for ZWT5 Family Favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 07, 2009

Excellent! I have to tell you I have made several types of salad dressing but never cooking one, always intimidated. This was easy and WOW my house smelled so good. I could have just eaten this salad dressing. As it was I had saved a bit for leftover salad but spread it on my sausage sandwich along with some spinach and bacon bits. DEVINE. I did add in eggs, toasted almonds, and sliced onion to the salad as you said it was versatile. LOVED it and will make often. As mersaydees said the timing is everything when tossing this sald before dinner. 5 star all the way! Made for ZWT5 Kitchen WItches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie June 01, 2009

Even my picky DH loves this salad! Made as directed, although I'm not sure I didn't turn off the burner with the dressing too soon before tossing it with the spinach. Timing is everything with this salad! Thanks, Slatts! Made for ZWT5, Kitchen Witches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees May 30, 2009

What a great sweet and sour dressing. It halves perfectly too--an easy and non-wasteful salad if making just for one person. I love spinach to begin with; this is an excellent enhancement. Thanks, Slatts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers August 07, 2008
Basic Spinach Salad With Hot Bacon Dressing