Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-70 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2005

      Donna, thanks so much for this great recipe. It is so simple and good. It is also very versatile, you can shape the bread, put it in the fridge and let the flavor mature, and then finish rising and bake at your convenience. This is my new favorite white bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      I am SO chuffed Donna. I would give this 10 stars! This is my very first Sourdough loaf, and the first Sourdough bread since our lovely holiday in New England last year. I made my bread in the machine, intending to remove the dough to bake in my own loaf tin. The bread started to cook so I left it, and never mind it was WONDERFUL. I am looking forward to trying the red sea starter now. Thankyou Donna it was aneasy recipe to use and I can't believe the result, just like your picture at the top!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      This was my first soughdough loaf - and I made a round oven baked loaf. I used a whole wheat starter and only (since it was my first) did 1/2 the size called for in this recipe. It turned out fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Donna, this is the recipe I tried first after I made starter from your wild yeast flakes. It is a great recipe, and gets better each time I make it, as I am continuing to learn how to work with the sourdough starter. It is going to be my "tried and true" recipe for basic sourdough bread. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      A very delecious and comforting bread, I loved it. This was my first attempt at sourdough and it turned out to meet my 'great expectations' and brought back childhood memories. I will be making this again and again. I followed the recipe exactly and my loaf turned out looking a lot like Marg's pictures above. Thanks Donna! This has satisfied a long craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      Great beginning recipe for a beautifully textured, creamy, dense bread. I used a Red Sea yeast starter (thanks to CarrolJ) and this was my first breadmaking expedition with this new starter. I didn't have any milk so I used cream as a substitute and it worked out perfectly. I did need an additional 1/4-1/2 cup of flour while kneading and it took 45 minutes for the baking. The flavor is divine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2004

      I was surprised to discover that I have never written a review of this recipe although I have made it many times. All of Donna M's sourdough recipes are great...especially if you use a wild yeast starter!!! Very good basic recipe which can be shaped into many kinds of breads. Today I will make Italian breadsticks out of this recipe and brush the baked rolls with olive oil and parmesaean cheese while still hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      This bread is amazingly good. It made our leftover turkey sandwiches even better than usual this Thanksgiving. I can't wait to have toast & coffee in the morning. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      Just like the picture, with a soft and light texture and a delicious flavor. Very easy to slice. A keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      It does deserve a 5 star rating!***** It came out just like your picture;what a thrill! We loved it;I am just amazed I was able to produce such a light bread without any yeast. It took 4 hours;the same time as when I make bread with yeast in my breadmachine.Thank you Donna;now I can move on with my life.It's been a roller coaster fun experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1593.6
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    11%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2494.2 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 304.4 g
    101%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 42.8 g
    85%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites