Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2008

      Very good bread, everyone loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Hubby and I both love it! We didn't even know if we would like sourdough bread or not, and this is the first time I've ever attempted to make it. I didn't let it sit very long though because I didn't want a very strong sour flavor the first time, I will continue to play with that. The recipe was very easy, thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Great recipe! My hubby ate the whole loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      This was surprisinly (sp) easy once I got the starter. It turned out better than I expected with a great sour taste. I've been trying to learn to make this ever since I was first married, (a LONG time ago) and now I've done it. Not only do I thank you Donna M. but my DH sends a BIG thank you as this is his favorite bread. As I'm writing this, I'm sitting here having a slice toasted with home made sweet cherry jam and it is YUM!! Anyone wanting an easy, but delicious sour dough bread really needs to try this. I know I'll be doing it again and again. Only wish there were TEN stars to give it. Now I've got to try some of your other recipes. Thanks also for helping me through this cycle, I feel like I've raised a child.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      You've renewed my faith in myself as a bread baker. I was amazed at how much this thing rose -- left it under a bowl when my husband and I went out for dinner, came back, and it had expanded to the sides/edges of the bowl! I quickly reshaped it to look a bit smaller, before sticking it in the oven, which is a big reason why it seemed to rise more on one side. :) But we love our lopsided bread. I can't believe how much it rose, either. I'm sure I'll be making this again and again. Thanks, Donna M.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      This was my first time making sourdough bread. I used Sourdough Bread Starter "Sourdough Bread Starter". Since my dh doesn't really like sourdough, I didn't let it proof a long time. He liked it. I made some for friends as well. Thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This bread is great, this recipe make a huge fluffy white loaf of bread perfect sandwiches,toast ect. I cooked mine until an internal temperature of 190f and it is soft with the slightest crispness to the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This is perfect sourdough bread!! I used my Kitchenaid mixer to knead the dough. Talk about easy. If my sweet hubby doesn't get home soon the bread will be gone (do you blame us?). Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Yay! My first successful sourdough. I've been baking bread for years, but my sourdough attempts have always ended up with a loaf too sour to eat. This one turned out great, made with your wild yeast starter. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      We have made this recipe twice now. All I can say is it’s PERFECT! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      I have done this recipe twice after beginning my starter about 5 weeks ago. I did the basic recipe last week and today instead of white bread flour I used white whole wheat. I let it set (autolyse) for 20 minutes after the initial mixing and then kneaded it with my KitchenAid mixer on speed 2 for about 6 minutes. I did have to add a little more flour to hand knead it a bit and to roll it out. It is in the oven baking as I type and the sourdough smell is great. I can't wait to cut into this loaf!! Thanks for the wonderful, easy to follow recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      This was a fabulous recipe, the dough was easy to work with and it went together nicely. I let my starter sit out for 24 hours and it was just perfect!! Thanks for another graet sourdough recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      This was my first sourdough bread, and it came out really great. The instructions were very helpful for a newbie to accomplish a beautiful loaf of bread! I used my bread machine to mix the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      This is a great sourdough bread. I used my KA to do the mixing and it turned out great. I used PaulaG's Foolproof Sourdough Starter #137811, and it had such a great flavor and the texture was just what I was looking for. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      This was super easy in my bread maker with the sourdough starter #67075 thought it wass a lot of starter but did it anyway the hubby loved the robust flavor , & the texture was fantastic it will be made alot around here

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This is by far the best bread I've ever made! I followed the instructions to a T and was rewarded with a beautiful loaf of delicious bread. Husband and I had our sandwiches today with this and we were in heaven. I can't believe I've finally mastered sourdough bread!! Thanks SO much Donna....I can't wait to try your other sourdough recipes with my terrific sourdough starter :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      I made this tonite for the second time in less than a week. It turned out beautifully. The first time the loaves cracked while baking, I z-mailed Donna and she patiently explained to cut a 1/4 inch gash the length of the loaf to allow room to expand.) I haven't worked w/ sour dough in a LONG tome, memory on how to failed me) Did this the second time and they were perfect. I doubled this recipe because we have a large family and it works great. Be carefull not to use up all your starter...you have to adjust when proofing because you are using a whooping 4 c of starter. The second time I made it was for a boyscout pack meeting (western theme) and hardly had time after the last baking to make up enough starter. I didn't even have 1/4 c left. However I've slowly been feeding it and getting it back up to par for the weekend baking. Thank you so much for the starters Donna, I'm having so much fun!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Excellent way to begin with sourdough! Easy recipe to follow, great results. Everyone enjoyed. Have used several times already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      I made my bread today it turned out fantastic, I was really pleased as this was my first attempt thank you for the recipe Donna M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Donna, thanks so much for this great recipe. It is so simple and good. It is also very versatile, you can shape the bread, put it in the fridge and let the flavor mature, and then finish rising and bake at your convenience. This is my new favorite white bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1593.6
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    11%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2494.2 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 304.4 g
    101%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 42.8 g
    85%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites