Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2010

      I'm never buying sourdough again! It was wonderful to have warm,fresh,tender,crusty bread. I made this using a sourdough starter I found here on zaar. It made my house smell so good. Thanks for posting this it's a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Excellent bread. Easy to make, once cooled it slices nicely. Can't wait to make when fresh tomatoes are in season, what a sandwhich that will be!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Really good recipe. I used it as a base to make raisin bread. If it weren't for Donna and duonyte, I wouldn't be making any bread much less sourdough. Thanks Donna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      This is a great bread recipe. I've made it twice now. Once in a bread pan and latest as a round loaf. Both times it turned out wonderful. We like the bread pan better because it's easier to make sandwiches from. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I'll be making good use of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      This recipe is wonderfully easy! This will be my second year making my own sourdough (from my own starter) and my second year using this recipe. The bread is beautifully gargantuan with a crunchy outside and soft, fluffy inside! I use a stoneware casserole dish (greased and cornmeal(ed)) to make one giant loaf, or I use two stoneware pie dishes (again, greased and cornmeal(ed)) to make two smaller rounds. This is one recipe I definitely recommend especially for first-timers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Best sourdough bread I have ever made. Family tells me this is the best. I used Donna's Wild Yeast and instead of butter i used soybean oil. Other than that everything else is the same. I used half white bread flour and half whole wheat flour. Had to add 1/4 cup more flour since it was still too wet and kneaded it by hand. I liked the larger loaf as this large one loafer was 2.5 lbs when baked. As this was the case i used my larger pyrex loaf pan. The flavor and texture was great even with the use of half whole wheat; and did not find it heavy. And, yes, i definitely will make it again. Once again, i really liked the large size loaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Very good bread! My first sourdough recipe to ever make and I used Donna's Wild Yeast Sourdough Starter for the starter. Very simple instructions with great results. I proofed my starter for about 9 hrs. and got a mild but flavorful bread-just how I like it! I used about half whole wheat and half white. I also shaped it into a round and baked it on a baking sheet for 50 min total. Thanks for this recipe Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I have made this a couple of times. I increase the recipe by 50% and make 2 large french styled loafs (see pictures) I find I need to add a little more flour then the recipe calls for but I know our flour in Canada is different from US flour so that may be the reason. (I add an extra 1/2 cup or so). I also proof for a full 24 hours in hope of increasing the sour taste. It does make a wonderful sourdough loaf; I would recomend to all! UPDATE: I have increased the proof time to 48hours and obtained a VERY strong sourdough flavour. It is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Great recipe. I have made this several times, the first time with AP flour (it was kind of OK), and the other times with actual bread flour (turned out great). The only problem I ever had was the time that I pulled my starter out of the fridge just an hour or so before using it. It took an extra 1 or 1 1/2 hours to rise. It still turned out great though. Now I pull out my starter first thing in the morning, or the night before. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I can't really say I've ever had anything more wonderful than this in my entire life. :) It was my first sourdough bread and it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I am making this for the second time now. The first time I got a beautiful loaf that would have been great for sandwiches (but didn't stick around long enough), and this time I made it into two more baguette-style loaves (very wide baguettes). The wonderful smell is teasing us, so I just took a peek in the oven and they are huge! I'm sure this recipe turns out differently depending on the starter used, but it's working out beautifully with mine. If this is the only thing I ever make with my starter, we'll be happy and well-fed people!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I used my own starter for this (it had yeast in it) and this rose 2 inches above the pan in less than an hour and it got HUGE in the oven. I had the rip the bread in half after it baked to make it managable. Next time I will either make this bread with the starter described or make two loaves with my own starter. Even with the ballooning of the bread, it was absolutely delicious! The outside was hard and the inside was so incredibly soft and slightly sour. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this-Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This is my first loaf using Amish Friendship Starter. I kneaded by hand but got too tired halfway through and used my ABM. I didn't let it knead the dough enough and it was still hard although it was satiny and smooth. It didn't rise during proofing. I put it into the oven and left it there for the specific time. When I came back, I was surprised to see a lovely high risen loaf! It had a couple of lovely cracks on the top to boot! I love it!! It was a very dense and the top crust is crusty. It was also quite sweet but I think it is because of the nature of the starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      This the THE BEST sourdough bread recipe I have ever tried. Makes excellent sandwiches, toast & freezes quite well. I was looking for a recipe to replace my favorite store bought brand of sourdough Chompy's and this is the winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This is my new weekly bread recipe. Have made it 5 times and gets better every time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      The texture of this bread was so, so wonderful! Crispy on the outside, but soft and spongy on the inside! The thing is, mine kinda turned out like normal bread, because i used only day old starter. It still turned out wonderful, just not sour. We were going on vacation the next day, so i had to use it up, otherwise it'd go bad. I decided to whing it and we loved it anyways! Thanks for the great recipe Donna! UPDATE--- I made this bread again with normal starter and it was really good. Thanks for the tip about being able to put the starter in the refridgerator A Cook In Illinois!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I have to give this recipe 5 stars because I've been trying to make sour dough bread with starter for months and this is the first bread that I made that looked and tasted like bread and my family ate all of it. I think Swimmer 175 needs to know that starter can be stored in the refrigerator. Anyway, I will definitely use this recipe again. The bread had a crispy crust, a nice sour dough flavor, and mine had a bit of a firm texture inside but didn't raise quite as high as the one in the picture. Maybe I under neaded it or over neaded it? not sure. Anyway-its great-Thanks for the Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      This bread was amazing! I used your wild yeast starter on day 7 I'm still letting some mature, but I just couldn't wait to try it any longer! I've made it twice since Monday, once in a loaf pan, once freeform. I definatley liked the free form better. I do think I will be stalking your bread recipes until I've tried them all. Thank you so much for sharing your talent with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This was AWESOME. I have tried a sourdough loaf before, and it may have been a bad starter, but it didn't work. I was concerned that this would be another failure but I let it rise for 2.5 hours and then after 10 minutes in the oven it had puffed right up! I am so excited to make a couple more loaves tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1593.6
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    11%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2494.2 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 304.4 g
    101%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 42.8 g
    85%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes