Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Sour Cream White Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Sour Cream White Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2005

      I made these into cupcakes for a baby shower. This turned out moist & flavorful. The batter is thick, as I assumed it would be, but beating it the full amount of time makes it quite smooth. The cupcakes baked up in 20 minutes exactly. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2014

      I bet this is great. Every baked recipe I've ever tried with sour cream seems to be lighter than any other version. I find it to be a perfect ingredient to bake with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I don't know what i was expecting, but this cake just didn't work out for me. It was dry, vaguely sour tasting (probably from the sour cream) and we were disappointed. I think i will just go back to preparing the white cake mix as directed on the box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      This recipe makes a very moist and yummy cake! I made cupcakes for my daughters birthday and through in some colored sprinkles to the batter to make confetti cupcakes Adorable! I will use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      I made this cake just as the instructions say and it was great! It is a very dense cake, almost like a pound cake, but extremely moist. This will be my new go-to white cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This cake was just as beautiful as it was delicious! Easy and excellent recipe! However, if
      you are covering it with fondant, I would recommend using a more dense cake recipe. Still a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I can never say no to a great white cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I am not sure if I did something wrong or what. I made cupcakes and ended up with 18. I found they turned out very dry . I am not sure if I over baked them or what. I was very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      I don't typically use a cake mix, but was in a hurry to get a white cake made to use for a frozen ice cream cake. I thought it turned out great!!! I layered ice cream that I had previously formed to the same size pan that i baked the cake in. Put fudge topping on the cake before topping with ice cream. Covered the whole layer cake with cool whip and then put chopped heath bars on top. I did that so the wrap wouldn't stick to the cool whip. The cake didn't freeze too hard. It had great texture and I used this recipe again even when I had more time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This is a very good white cake as a base for recipes such as Ultimate Lemon Layer Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I appear to be in the minority in my rating of this cake. Was quite disappointed because I made it exactly as stated but it still tasted like a cake mix - even after allowing it to sit overnight. I guess we just do not like the aftertaste of a cake mix. I am glad it worked for others and that they enjoyed it - maybe I am being picky!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Moist and delicious. This cake baked up nicely in a round pan and cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This makes really good cake and it's what I always use for my white cakes now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Fantastic cake! I made this for DD's first birthday and she devoured her piece and then demanded a second. Really! The batter is quite thick, but I agree that beating it for the full amount of time produces a very smooth result. I made this a couple of days ahead of time, storing it in the fridge, in order to have ample time for decorating. It was still deliciously moist for the party and several people commented on how good it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      I loved everything about this recipe. From the ease of preparation to the wonderful taste. It is super moist with a nice light taste. I also made this into cupcakes and it worked well in that form. For the frosting I used Decorator Buttercream Icing and it worked well with this. This will be my go-to recipe for cupcakes. Love it! Thanks ocurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Sour Cream White Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.9
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    52%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 241.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.3 g
    73%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites