Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2012

      I made quinoa from another recipe and it did not absorb all of the water. When I ran across this recipe I was amazed as Ihad never known what it was suppose to look like nor how to get it to that stage. Thank you for teaching me the basics I lovesd having that knowledge you inserted at the end

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Thanks for the foundation recipe! I had never made quinoa before last night... I made it as a seasoned "rice" and it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This worked really well! I did have to cook longer than 15 minutes, though, to let all the liquid be absorbed. I toasted my quinoa after washing it (per another recipe instructions) and let it cool. Then I cooked as directed in this recipe, but using vegetable stock. Came out really well - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Very helpful for those who haven't made quinoa before. All the important basics! Like some other reviewers, I like to use vegetable or chicken broth for more flavor. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Thank you for posting this! Mine turned out perfectly using this recipe. It was my first time cooking quinoa and I have to say it is VERY yummy. I mixed some cooked quinoa with my yogurt today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      You summed it up- this is the basics for quinoa. Just what I was looking for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Used this method for making a quinoa based taboleh instead of cous cous. This is very easy and quick.Happy cooking. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Can't go wrong with this nice and easy basic recipe...thanks for posting it...Made for "Help a Naked Recipe" tag game for recipes without photos...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I wanted the basic recipe that would give me the ratio of liquid to grain, and this recipe had it. (two parts liquid to one part grain) I substituted regular College Inn chicken broth for water and it came out as a delicious accompaniment to a Chicken Provençal.<br/><br/>I have to admit I toasted it first, like I do rice, by heating it in a tsp of oil in the pan for about 5 minutes before I added the broth. As I hoped, it gave it a delicious toasty flavor! I'm looking forward to building off of this recipe to prepare this healthful grain more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Thanks for the directions! Used vegetable broth instead of water. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

    • on September 03, 2010

      I used this recipe and it worked perfectly. Next time I will try cooking in broth for a little more flavor. Thanks so much for posting a keeper!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Just the basics. The visual clues at the end really made this recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      basic , just what I wanted, I used chicken broth instead of water as I was using it with a chicken stir fry, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I bought my quinoa in bulk and didn't have cooking directions. Thanks for posting this. I have made it with water before, but this time I used some chicken broth for a little extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Directions were perfect, the quinoa I purchased had no cooking instructions. This really helped. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I am trying to learn to cook with grains other than wheat and rice. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My first time making quinoa and it turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.4
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    14%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites