53 Reviews

Great BASIC recipe concept. I made this for work and cleaned out my fridge for the ingredients. I used sauteed onions and peppers, chorizo, swiss cheese, ham. Since I used a deep pie dish I upped the eggs to 6 and cooked one hour. Really turned out well. Thanks for posting a great "reference" recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT August 21, 2008

I made this in a Pillsbury refrigerator pie crust and threw in some asparagus, bacon, and Monterey Jack and Jarlsburg cheese. It was good hot as well as cold. My daughter said I should give it 7 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonata June 16, 2008

This simple recipe results in a beautiful, light, fluffy quiche that I'll be making again and again. I added julienne ham, monterey jack cheese and a touch of (believe-it-or-not) Mexican cheese dip that I had left over in the fridge. Turned out very well. Next time, though, I think I'll keep it simple and make it without anything but the eggs, milk and cheese -- it's that good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunslinger's Wife May 05, 2008

Great base recipe! Me and my boyfriend had never made a quiche before and this was a real help! We've used it twice now, we did a jarlsberg, spinach and mushroom and a bacon and corn one. The only thing we did differently was a deeper cook pan, and two extra eggs. We also bought uncooked pastry sheets and used those (as opposed to a frozen, uncooked pie in a tin).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tracee March 17, 2008

I used shredded cheese, tomatoes, this garlic cheese SPREAD i had in the fridge and i even used soy milk because we were out of regular. it turned out wonderfully!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookiePuss September 21, 2006

I did this with Crabmeat, shrimp & chopped Clams. Used swiss cheese, chopped onion. Made a terrific Seafood Quiche.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chenille12 July 30, 2006

This is some yummy stuff! I made this last week for my mom because she had a friend over for brunch. I used diced ham, frozen thawed broccoli, cheddar cheese, and mozarella. It was AWESOME! Thanx for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtly March 10, 2005

I used 1/2 pound of turkey sausage, half of a large pepper, half of a small onion and about 4 oz of mushrooms (veggies all sautéed together). And of course, cheese. A frozen deep dish pie crust makes this so easy. Mine took closer to 50 minutes to bake through. Make sure you use the pan under the quiche - mine always bubbles over. Update: I make a double batch of sausage/veggies and freeze the half Makes for a really easy, quick meal. Update - I do a double batch of sausage and veggies and freeze the other one. Makes for a really quick meal when you don't have time..... (I actually doubled the meat/veggies and froze the other half to use later)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB March 23, 2016

For some reason I'd always been afraid to make quiche, as if it were some arcane art that only could be done in eldritch ceremonies by Culinary Elders. This simple recipe vanquishes that fear, and gives the reassuring lesson that quiches are just eggs with some stuff thrown in. I cook and chop a few thick slices of bacon, cook some onion in a bit of reserved bacon grease, then add in chopped spinach, cut asparagus, feta, salt, pepper, to the whipped-to-heck egg and milk mixture. Turns out delicious every time. 4-rather than 5 stars because, though this recipe is excellent inspiration, it leaves much to interpretation, and omits seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine P. March 17, 2016

This recipe is amazing! Anytime I decide to cook a quiche (which is often) I use this recipe. The ingredients are so common to use in food and recipes most of the time I already have it at home. This is really the best quiche recipe to use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BooBear P. March 15, 2016
Basic Quiche