Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Poutine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Poutine Recipe

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2002

      Thank you leeannr...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      Note to all - Poutine originates from Quebec, Canada. It's yummy and not at all good for the waist line. I use cheese curds but in a pinch mozerella can be substituted (only if absolutely necessary)! Italian poutine can be made by substituting spaghetti sauce for beef gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I love this dish, it has been a staple in my entire life. I like to crumble chives and bacon on the top, with lots of pepper! uMMMM. I only allow myself to eat this once in a while, cause its soooooo bad, but sooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      WOW! Great combo of ingredients. Been wanting to try this for a long time (since Redsie posted her photo). Found out the in our Tour of the British Isles--the Island of Manx has adopted this dish at many fast food shops. So, I made it for the Isle of Manx stop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Ohhhhh my goodness. I used farmer cheese, which was easy to find, and the poutine was wonderful. My kids and I ate it all, so DH didn't even get a taste. Oops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I live in Montreal (Quebec) so I have been eating poutine for a long time!!! I use frozen french fries with mozzarella and/or cheddar (if I don't have cheese curds on hand). :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Delicious! Made this tonight and my boyfriend raved about it. This has got to be one of the easiest meals ever. Like Pamela I also used shoestring french fries, but I used a package of poutine gravy mix. It was quite salty but oh so good... and I agree, I'm sure it would have been THAT much tastier using home-made gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      MMMMmmmmm! I used shoestring french fries, mozzarella cheese chunks and I made some beef gravy: Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Poutine is a classic french canadian dish. The proper way to prepare it is as follows. Deep fry french fries-preferably thick hand cut. Season with a bit of salt, then put half a porton of fries into a bowl or container add some fresh cheese curds-NOT MOZZARELLA OR OTHER CHEESE, then add the rest of fries and top with more cheese curds and finally pour piping hot beef gravy overtop as desired. Should not be garnished with any condiments other than a bit of salt and pepper. The cheese curds are key it makes it extra gooey and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      OH YEAH BABY! The kids would eat this everyday if I allowed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Poutine Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites