Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2009

      This is such a great recipe! I make this in my bread machine, and then when it's finished the dough cycle, I take it out and let it rest in an oiled bowl for another hour, then roll it out for pizzas. It has become a firm favourite in our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      I've been using this dough for months now and boy am I glad I found it! I've tried many homemade doughs, but none gave me the consistency I was looking for. This dough however was awesome! It is now my one and only! Sometimes I add garlic powder and Italian seasoning for some extra pizazz. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was pleasantly easy to make. I kneaded the dough by hand (about 10 minutes) and it came together quickly. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The crust held up really well with sauce, cheese and toppings. 450* for 15 minutes was perfect, too. Great recipe, easy to follow, and tasty, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This was quite good; but it was far too sweet with 2 tablespoons of sugar. It remined me of hot cross buns.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      I wasn't too thrilled with this recipe. The dough was bland and too soft- I like my pizza dough chewy. I substituted 1 c bread flour for one of the cups of flour to give it more bite, but if I ever use this recipe again, I'll do all bread flour. This recipe would probably be good for deep dish pizza- but for regular pizza it is too soft and wimpy. The thing I did like about it was the ease of the recipe and how the dough was not tough to handle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      this dough was simple to make. the only thing i would say was it tasted a bit too sweet for pizza dough- next time i will try using less sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      I made this last night, and had home-made pizza in about 2 hours! the dough turned out wonderful. it was enough for a 12 in. pie and 2 calzones. thanks for this recipe, its definitely going to become my regular homemade dough from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Great pizza dough...My ids are eating this as I write this and all I hear is yummy!!! Thank you for the recipe...I have a new dough recipe now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      my yeast must have been old cuz i tried twice once in breadmaker and then my kitchenaid...it had a good flavor but just didnt fluff up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Made this four times so far and every time it comes out great! Waiting for it to rise right now for my children and I to make another great pizza! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      I have been making pizza for quite some time and have never come across a recipe for pizza dough that has yeast in it that I cared for as they always would come out dry, hard, too chewy, etc. This recipe was perfect. We had a perfect crust all the way around, even my picky husband liked it. Next time I will have to add some garlic salt and seasonings to the dough for fun. This was just perfect, the hardest thing about the recipe is waiting for it to bake. I made one large pizza almost the size of our cookie sheet and I didn't double the recipe. It was thick, soft, and moist. Most importantly everyone was happy with the dough. There was no complaints from the pickiest of eaters. This is a keeper for sure, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I made this into 4 calzones. I added garlic powder and oregano. I wish I had added more. I baked them in the oven on the bottom if a heated cast iron skillet. We will be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      I have made this over and over and over again. I don't think i have ever found a better simple pizza dough recipe than this one. My whole family loves it!!!!Thanks for the great recipe.

      4 years later and this is still the only pizza dough I use!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      This was my first try at pizza dough and found yours. I just got done making it and I really like it. I added some spices and garlic powder. I gave five stars because it actually came out perfect, I am not good at yeast recipes. I thought I kneaded it too much because I had a hard time getting it in a perfect circle, I even tried square. This of course is my problem. I did use the "00" Flour and put some semolina flour in it also. This recipe is a keeper, I will try it again without kneading it too much, but the taste is there the texture is right on, so thanks for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Great recipe. I am going to make bread sticks with it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      awesome recipe very easy to make and turned out wonderful, thank you soo much for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      i burnt it from the bottom but it was still very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

    • on August 14, 2010

      This was my first time making pizza dough, and I've made it many times since. Very good and very tasty! I've made it as-is as well as with garlic and herbs de provence mixed into the dough. It's delicious both ways! You can make 2 thin crust pizzas or one thick crust pizza or a calzone and a thin crust pizza. Delicious any way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Perfect crust recipe! Also good if you use half whole wheat flour/half all purpose flour. I make it in the bread machine and pre-bake it before adding toppings. It also makes good breadsticks, brushed with garlic butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (677 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 862.1
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    16%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1172.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 157.1 g
    52%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes