Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Pancake Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Pancake Syrup

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2003

      Thanks Barb, you saved my butt! I promised to make the kids pancakes this morning before I realized that I didn't have enough syrup. It's snowing like crazy and I didn't want to venture out to the store so I searched Recipezaar and found your syrup recipe. It was very good and still warm when we ate it. I put the rest in the fridge for next time. I may not ever buy store syrup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Very good and super easy! Not as cloyingly sweet as storebought pancake syrups. I reduced the amount of water to 3/4 cup, because I like a thicker pancake syrup. I added a pinch of salt, because I add salt to every sweet thing I make to create a richer flavor. I used 1/4 tsp. butter flavor, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and a couple drops almond extract to flavor. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2003

      YUM! Extra-curricular wonderful syrup, Barb! And so easy to put together. We enjoyed it on homemade waffles this a.m.! I got me a new bran favorite! Thanks for sharing. Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      It was late, I still had to make dinner and did not want to go to the grocery store. Easy dinner for us is sometime breakfast. I decided to make pancakes and once I had my batter mixed up realized I was very low on syrup. I found this recipe, made sure I had all the ingredients on hand and made it with the hopes it would be edible....I was pleasantly surprised! Simple, easy and delicious. After my husband and kids tasted it they all wanted this syrup and not the little bit that was in the bottle. Since the recipe called for you to put it in the fridge after making it I simply put my pan in a bowl of ice to cool it down and thicken it up. No more store bought for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I made pancakes this morning feeling pretty awesome using my little griddle thingy like banging out pancakes 5 or 6 at a time only to have my June Cleaver morning come crashing down on me when I discovered that I have no syrup. I tried out this recipe, but a little different. I did one batch the way the recipe called for it except I used 3/4 cup water instead of 1 cup, and I added a pinch of salt as one of the reviews suggested, and I poured half of that into one serving cup and the other half into another one, and I kept one as is. The other one, I added some Strawberry flavoring (I have no idea how much, like I just poured some in there, but I would guess about a teaspoon). The Strawberry one is the winner with the kids, and my Cleaverish mom moment (and it was ONLY a moment) was restored, that was until I attempted to scrub my floor with my kids going bat crazy in the background.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Yep, this recipe is fabulous. My five year old said, "Mom, your syrup isn't good...it's the BOMB!" My husband totally agreed, "Empty out the store bought bottle and use it to keep this stuff in." I added two tablespoons of butter, will probably add more next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Wonderful syrup! I read a lot of the reviews and was so torn! So I just went with making the original recipe. It was delicious! Thanks for posting this - I will never buy store bought again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This is the first time I have made syrup but decided to try since maple syrup is so expensive. I used honey instead of corn syrup so that it is healthier. I used a light tasting honey but I can still taste it. It turned out very sweet but I am not sure if that is because of using the honey. I will give it a try tomorrow and let my kids be the final judge. I think I may add a bit of earth balance to cut down the sweetness. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      We liked the syrup but I had problems with the consistency - it was just like water. I followed the recipe exactly as written but after three minutes the sauce was still very thin. So, I decided to give it another 2 min and still no change. Added 2 tbsp brown sugar and 2 tbsp of corn syrup and that didn't help either. However, after cooling it for three hours it is now perfect consistency and tastes great. I do not know where I went wrong as none of the other reviews mention this problem. In fact others say they used it right away but I couldn't. If you can offer suggestions, please do as the syrup tasted great and I will make this again either using less water or just enough in advance that it has a chance to thicken. Thx Aroostook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Bye Bye Mrs. Buttersworth! This was wonderful-much better than store boughten. I tried this recipe because I made eggnog pancakes and didn't want the maple flavor to overwhelm the eggnog taste. I added a litle rum extract and it made the pancakes perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Quick and delicious, you would never know it wasn't store bought! DS#1 wanted french toast for breakfast, but I was out of syrup. I remembered I had saved this to my cookbook. So glad I did! A real keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      Thanks Barb for this delicious syrup. Coupled with Lennie's Good Mornining Pancakes this is a keeper. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      I'm a maple syrup fan myself, but was happy to try something different. This syrup is very tasty, with just a hint of vanilla. I used dark brown sugar for a richer color and flavor. Great sub for maple syrup if you run out and don't want to go to the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      Yes, add a pinch of salt. Then it is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      YUM! This is just like the syrup my Mom raised me with....minus the corn syrup and vanilla.. Boy, do they make a difference! I did not reduce the water for a thicker syrup, followed the recipe. Might reduce it a bit next time and maybe not. I think it is perfect as is. Thank you, Aroostook, for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      Instead of adding corn syrup(esp if you have corn allergy) add a little honey. You can also ad fruit juice or other extracts to create different flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Thank you for this. It is really good as is, but no recipe is sacred. I have to fool with them. So I added a 1/2 tsp of rum flavoring, a tsp of coconut flavoring, and a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and 2 Tbs of butter. The only thing that was missing were the bananas for bananas foster. And the syrup was perfect for my waffles. And it will go good over ice cream too. And the recipe is really good for other flavors too like blueberry or even adding your own maple flavoring with some cinnamon too. Probably won't buy syrup at the store anymore. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      My husband had french toast made. He went to the closet and realized our "sweet" sons had not told us they used the last of the syrup. I found this recipe and it was a HUGE hit. I have been told by my family not to buy store syrup any more!!!!!!! It was very easy to make and tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Thanks! A real life saver when we ran out. This is what we have been using for a while now. Whenever we don't feel like dishing out the big bucks for the actual "real maple syrup", we use this rather than store bought artificial. Tastes better and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      you saved breakfast! no one knew the difference. i think i liked it better than anything you can buy at the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Pancake Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (971 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1246.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 38.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 325.9 g
    108%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 247.6 g
    990%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites