78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Barb, you saved my butt! I promised to make the kids pancakes this morning before I realized that I didn't have enough syrup. It's snowing like crazy and I didn't want to venture out to the store so I searched Recipezaar and found your syrup recipe. It was very good and still warm when we ate it. I put the rest in the fridge for next time. I may not ever buy store syrup again.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 February 16, 2003

Very good and super easy! Not as cloyingly sweet as storebought pancake syrups. I reduced the amount of water to 3/4 cup, because I like a thicker pancake syrup. I added a pinch of salt, because I add salt to every sweet thing I make to create a richer flavor. I used 1/4 tsp. butter flavor, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and a couple drops almond extract to flavor. Yum!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf July 05, 2010

YUM! Extra-curricular wonderful syrup, Barb! And so easy to put together. We enjoyed it on homemade waffles this a.m.! I got me a new bran favorite! Thanks for sharing. Laudee

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee January 02, 2003

It was late, I still had to make dinner and did not want to go to the grocery store. Easy dinner for us is sometime breakfast. I decided to make pancakes and once I had my batter mixed up realized I was very low on syrup. I found this recipe, made sure I had all the ingredients on hand and made it with the hopes it would be edible....I was pleasantly surprised! Simple, easy and delicious. After my husband and kids tasted it they all wanted this syrup and not the little bit that was in the bottle. Since the recipe called for you to put it in the fridge after making it I simply put my pan in a bowl of ice to cool it down and thicken it up. No more store bought for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetteBurkes September 09, 2012

I made pancakes this morning feeling pretty awesome using my little griddle thingy like banging out pancakes 5 or 6 at a time only to have my June Cleaver morning come crashing down on me when I discovered that I have no syrup. I tried out this recipe, but a little different. I did one batch the way the recipe called for it except I used 3/4 cup water instead of 1 cup, and I added a pinch of salt as one of the reviews suggested, and I poured half of that into one serving cup and the other half into another one, and I kept one as is. The other one, I added some Strawberry flavoring (I have no idea how much, like I just poured some in there, but I would guess about a teaspoon). The Strawberry one is the winner with the kids, and my Cleaverish mom moment (and it was ONLY a moment) was restored, that was until I attempted to scrub my floor with my kids going bat crazy in the background.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dribblesngrits July 22, 2012

Yep, this recipe is fabulous. My five year old said, "Mom, your syrup isn't good...it's the BOMB!" My husband totally agreed, "Empty out the store bought bottle and use it to keep this stuff in." I added two tablespoons of butter, will probably add more next time. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breeayndouthit May 02, 2010

Wonderful syrup! I read a lot of the reviews and was so torn! So I just went with making the original recipe. It was delicious! Thanks for posting this - I will never buy store bought again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veeyababy December 14, 2009

This is the first time I have made syrup but decided to try since maple syrup is so expensive. I used honey instead of corn syrup so that it is healthier. I used a light tasting honey but I can still taste it. It turned out very sweet but I am not sure if that is because of using the honey. I will give it a try tomorrow and let my kids be the final judge. I think I may add a bit of earth balance to cut down the sweetness. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelabrettschneider November 15, 2008

We liked the syrup but I had problems with the consistency - it was just like water. I followed the recipe exactly as written but after three minutes the sauce was still very thin. So, I decided to give it another 2 min and still no change. Added 2 tbsp brown sugar and 2 tbsp of corn syrup and that didn't help either. However, after cooling it for three hours it is now perfect consistency and tastes great. I do not know where I went wrong as none of the other reviews mention this problem. In fact others say they used it right away but I couldn't. If you can offer suggestions, please do as the syrup tasted great and I will make this again either using less water or just enough in advance that it has a chance to thicken. Thx Aroostook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 26, 2008

Bye Bye Mrs. Buttersworth! This was wonderful-much better than store boughten. I tried this recipe because I made eggnog pancakes and didn't want the maple flavor to overwhelm the eggnog taste. I added a litle rum extract and it made the pancakes perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earlybird November 15, 2003
Basic Pancake Syrup