245 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just made these using the recipe above except I added vanilla bean paste as I had no vanilla extract. Also, used 1 1/4 cup milk (vs. 1 1/2 cup milk) as the batter began runny, and skipped the oil but cooked the pancakes using a non-stick pan with a quarter size drop of olive oil. Turned out nice and crispy on edges once and soft, chewy when you bite into it. Overall, soft chewy when cooled (not so much airy and fluffy, so depends on what consistency you prefer). Overall, easy to make tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 23, 2015

This is a great pancake that we enjoyed for breakfast. It made more than enough so I froze the leftovers. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore May 23, 2015

I added about two tablespoons of ground flax seed, and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup white. I also added a couple of handfulls of chocolate chips into the batter. Was the perfect consistancy. Delicious. Just perfect. A standard, good, dependable pancake. Thank you! I'd been trying all of these fancy recipes for pancakes, when the one I wanted was so "basic". :) Edited to add, made as directed using olive oil and vanilla. Very fluffy. Batter burns easily, so keep an eye out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel April 14, 2015

I made these pancakes for a sleep over breakfast and I loved them. My relatives didnt like them much. They turned out to be more like crepes then pancakes, but i give this recipie 3 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nisha H. April 06, 2015

These pancakes are THE BEST! no store bought pancakes can close. I made them using WHOLEWHEAT flour and they came out tasting amazing. My daughters didn't even know that they were eating wholewheat! Thank you for sharing~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 28, 2015

Best from scratch recipie ever! I used homemade yogurt for some of the milk to make buttermilk pancakes, replaced butter for oil, and used half whole wheat flour. You would never know I snuck some nutrition into these. Even my husband loved them and he generally like boxed mixes. Absolutely wonderful. I will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kims2cute March 25, 2015

Loved this recipe! Please try it! its moist consistency is delicious! Better if you use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and half the recipe's milk, if you need more, you add it until you find your desired consistency. I found the perfect hotcake mix recipe! Definitely, no need to buy hotcake mix anymore!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryolotl March 18, 2015

Truly awesome tasting and melt in your mouth pancakes. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 21/2 tablespoon of brown sugar instead of sugar. It's a bit too runny. Next round I will try reducing the milk to just 1 cup since this round I used 1 1/4cup of milk. Thank you very much for sharing this awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine February 13, 2015

This sounds amazing. I can't wait to try it! I always add some shredded lemon peel as well; you may not taste the lemon-ness, but you will be able to taste the goodness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel N. February 03, 2015

Add the vanilla! It makes pancakes and waffles wonderful. I've been doing that for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renzali November 09, 2014
Basic Pancake Mix