247 Reviews

Aunt Jemima move over.....these are so easy why buy a mix? They taste great and have a very nice texture! I like the fact that there is not alot of sugar in these. I added a drop of vanilla to the batter and the kids licked their plates clean! Me too! Easy and good...it's all here!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. March 04, 2003

I made these last night so we could have them for breakfast this morning, they didn't make it. I added 1/2 cup of extra flour because I had them running all over my skillet. I like a thicker pancake. The taste was so much better than any box version I have ever bought. I think I got about 15 pancakes out of the mix. Thank you so much Sackville Girl, you have saved me money by making my own. We loved them!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ March 04, 2003

I mixed this up for dinner on Pancake Tuesday - along with Canadian maple syrup and crisp bacon (try it.....you'll like it). I added 1/2 tsp vanilla & the additional 1/4 cup milk (I prefer thinner pancakes) and then my DH took over. He asked me if I had bought a new brand of pancake mix & of course I asked him why. His response was "these pancakes are fluffing up". Get out of town Aunt Jemima!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady March 05, 2003

Absolutely wonderful breakfast!! A very forgiving recipe--I had no baking soda, so I quadrupled the baking powder (4 tsp total)--also, after adding only 1 cup of milk, I found the consistency to be where we like it, so I stopped at the 1 cup mark, and boy, these pancakes were perfect--light, fluffy, and absolutely DELICIOUS!!! (I did add about 1/4 tsp of vanilla, but that was just cause of personal preference)--like so many others have said, the box mixes are going in the garbage..this is the best!! (Finally got a home cooked pancake to taste like the ones we get in the resturaunts) thank you so much for posting this!!! TERESA

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGirl,RN March 18, 2003

I make these all the time for my 4 year old and 2 year old. One thing they love is a banana/pb roll up with the leftover cakes. I just put them in the fridge until they get cold and then spread pb on them and then wrap it around a banana. Great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirls'Girls February 19, 2011

Great recipe! I added some cranberries! (fresh cranberries, about a cup, couple of tablespoons of sugar, dash of vanilla. Micro about a minute, stir and then another 1 minute or 2 then mix & mash leaving some whole.) Just sprinkle a spoonful on the pancake before flipping. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seamaid November 03, 2013

Perfect Recipe! I love how BIG and FLUFFY these pancakes are. We were able to get about 10 Average Pancakes out of this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Signing chef June 25, 2013

i didnt have any baking powder or baking soda so i just left them out.... i made the best crepes ever haha

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raygreen5 August 09, 2012

Definitely no need for packet mixes with this recipe here: Minor changes: vanilla sugar instead of ordinary sugar, some buttermilk instead of all milk (and the lesser amount since we like them thick) , and 1/2 the salt. I also mixed the eggs and oil really well together before adding to the mix because I don't like to risk running into bits of egg in the pancake. Very nice, SG.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango May 18, 2003

I made these this morning for breakfast. I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I thought they had a little too much of an eggy taste. I WILL be making these again, though. Next time I am going to increase the dry mix, not add as much milk and maybe only use one egg. I think that I will also take the suggestion of another review and add a little vanilla. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It really was one of the best pancakes I've had in a long time. Even if it was a little too "eggy" for my preference, I know that I can alter that for next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AudreyBG April 18, 2003
Basic Pancake Mix