Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Nomato Sauce (Tomato Free Tomato Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Nomato Sauce (Tomato Free Tomato Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      I really enjoyed this recipe.

      1) If you end up with a runny sauce, you either boiled for too long or put it in the food processor for too long.

      2) I would recommend to add the following ingredients to give some punch to this sauce. While not bad as it is (not bad at all in fact) it might be but somewhat sweet for the super tasters (or boring for those who usually burn their throat with hot spices)...

      2 Tbsp Vinegar
      2 Tsp Oregano and/or Basil
      1 Tsp Garlic powder
      1 Tsp Salt
      1 Tsp Black Pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I tried this recipe and it turned out very well and couldn't be simpler. It is not easy to stay on a tomato free or nightshade free diet and still make things that are tasty but this substitute works really well. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This recipe is excelent! I make pizza sauce with this as well as use it as a plain tomato sauce. I also use it as a base for homemade ketchup- an exceptional substitute which helps me eat normal food with a citrus allergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Really tasty. DH liked it. Toddler loves it. I'm liking it a lot more than the canned tomato sauce I'm feeling allergic to (mold allergy, yes mold is in canned tomatoes). Like the recipe poster, I found I had to add more spice than with tomato sauce but I didnt have to add any sugar! Thats a big bonus. Maybe my carrots were big or this is not really red sauce with the small beet added. I cooked a second beet and through in the red juice and discarded the actual beet as I needed additional liquid anyway. It was still a dark orange after. Anyway the colour doesnt matter so much when it tastes really good and is not allergenic. We use a lot of sauce as DH likes sauces with rice dishes and we dont do dairy (yogurt) so I think I will be making this many times instead of using canned tomato sauce anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Review via my 2 year old-tomato allergic (but spaghetti loving) son. "YUUUUMMMMMYYYY! "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      i really loved this recipe with the addition of Unrising Muffin recommendations, this will definitely be a stable for me but i will try adding an extra tbsp of apple cider vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      The "Nomato" brand makes both a ketchup and sauce, and both are a little on the expensive side. I was so happy to come across this instead of buying the pre-made versions. <br/><br/>I substituted the celery for asparagus (because I like it more). I also added sliced green olives, banana pepper juice, apple cider vinegar, and rosemary along with other spices. Positively delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      We are Failsafe and this is something we make all of the time:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I tried this and I thought I followed the directions, but what I ended up with was the just about the right color for real, fake 'mater sauce, but the texture was runny and grainy and the taste had nothing going for it. As much as everyone else raves about this, I'm thinking I must have done something really wrong. It didn't work for me at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Mmmm, what a wonderful tomato sauce substitute! I made it to go with some whole spelt pasta and feta cheese and it was sooo good! Yum, yum, yum! It was gobbled up by all! :) The taste is a little sweet from the beet and carrots, but definitely nice and a reminiscent of tomato sauce. I used an Italian Herb Blend for the seasoning in addition to the suggested laurel leave and it was very yummy. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, SWalker! I will definitely use this over and over again in all the tomato sauce dishes I havent had in so long. Made and reviewed for the Herb of the Month Club in the French Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Nomato Sauce (Tomato Free Tomato Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (521 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.7
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    72%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 201.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites