10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed this recipe.

1) If you end up with a runny sauce, you either boiled for too long or put it in the food processor for too long.

2) I would recommend to add the following ingredients to give some punch to this sauce. While not bad as it is (not bad at all in fact) it might be but somewhat sweet for the super tasters (or boring for those who usually burn their throat with hot spices)...

2 Tbsp Vinegar
2 Tsp Oregano and/or Basil
1 Tsp Garlic powder
1 Tsp Salt
1 Tsp Black Pepper

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unrising Muffin February 15, 2011

I tried this recipe and it turned out very well and couldn't be simpler. It is not easy to stay on a tomato free or nightshade free diet and still make things that are tasty but this substitute works really well. Thanks so much for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycrocodile July 11, 2009

This recipe is excelent! I make pizza sauce with this as well as use it as a plain tomato sauce. I also use it as a base for homemade ketchup- an exceptional substitute which helps me eat normal food with a citrus allergy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sistercooks June 18, 2009

Really tasty. DH liked it. Toddler loves it. I'm liking it a lot more than the canned tomato sauce I'm feeling allergic to (mold allergy, yes mold is in canned tomatoes). Like the recipe poster, I found I had to add more spice than with tomato sauce but I didnt have to add any sugar! Thats a big bonus. Maybe my carrots were big or this is not really red sauce with the small beet added. I cooked a second beet and through in the red juice and discarded the actual beet as I needed additional liquid anyway. It was still a dark orange after. Anyway the colour doesnt matter so much when it tastes really good and is not allergenic. We use a lot of sauce as DH likes sauces with rice dishes and we dont do dairy (yogurt) so I think I will be making this many times instead of using canned tomato sauce anymore!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 24, 2009

Review via my 2 year old-tomato allergic (but spaghetti loving) son. "YUUUUMMMMMYYYY! "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkochhar May 26, 2011

i really loved this recipe with the addition of Unrising Muffin recommendations, this will definitely be a stable for me but i will try adding an extra tbsp of apple cider vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fatma A. January 10, 2014

The "Nomato" brand makes both a ketchup and sauce, and both are a little on the expensive side. I was so happy to come across this instead of buying the pre-made versions. <br/><br/>I substituted the celery for asparagus (because I like it more). I also added sliced green olives, banana pepper juice, apple cider vinegar, and rosemary along with other spices. Positively delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllergyPlagued September 18, 2013

We are Failsafe and this is something we make all of the time:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltz4yu March 15, 2013

I tried this and I thought I followed the directions, but what I ended up with was the just about the right color for real, fake 'mater sauce, but the texture was runny and grainy and the taste had nothing going for it. As much as everyone else raves about this, I'm thinking I must have done something really wrong. It didn't work for me at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdnerd May 16, 2010

Mmmm, what a wonderful tomato sauce substitute! I made it to go with some whole spelt pasta and feta cheese and it was sooo good! Yum, yum, yum! It was gobbled up by all! :) The taste is a little sweet from the beet and carrots, but definitely nice and a reminiscent of tomato sauce. I used an Italian Herb Blend for the seasoning in addition to the suggested laurel leave and it was very yummy. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, SWalker! I will definitely use this over and over again in all the tomato sauce dishes I havent had in so long. Made and reviewed for the Herb of the Month Club in the French Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 04, 2010
Basic Nomato Sauce (Tomato Free Tomato Sauce)