Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Muffins With Variations Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Muffins With Variations

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      This recipe produces 12 perfect muffins. The first time I made them with the zest of an orange and chocolate chips and the second time with 1/2 cup rolled oats and chocolate chips. I love this excellent versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Very good basic muffin recipe... I used dried cranberries and walnuts and they were delicious. Quite sweet, though and they rather reminded me more of cupcakes than muffins. I think I would also try cooking for less time at a higher temperature because I had a problem with the sides getting too dark before the tops browned. Not burnt, mind you, but getting a little too dark brown for comfort. I'd also try sprinkling the tops with some brown sugar. But overall, very easy, nice and tender and very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      The recipe was wonderful... however I ignored your variation options because I wanted to make raspberry chocolate chip muffins from the beginning. But I did use the basic muffin part and they turned out wonderfully. Muchly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      This was a good muffin mix, I used cranberries and it was good. Brewhead

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      This was great! I made it using coconut. It made a great evening snack and was well enjoyed by all A definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Great basic muffin recipe, perfect for jumping off into variations. I added about 1/2 c. pumpkin (whisked into the wet ingredients). Into the dry ingredients I supplemented 1/4 c. flax for some of the flour, and put in an additional 1/4 c. oats, along with 1/2 t. cinnamon. The result is a pretty and delicious muffin - healthy too! I baked them at 400 for 13 minutes. Twelve muffins exactly. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Very easy basic muffin recipe. I added maple extract in place of the vanilla and then added cinnamon and chopped hazel nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I made these yesterday for kindergarten snack, using coconut and orange zest. As I was putting them in the tins, I decided that they weren't sweet enough for a kid's taste, so I sprinkled the tops with sugar. They were loved by all but one (who couldn't get past that she thought the coconut looked like onions). Another reviewer found they browned too much, and I have a history of overly browned quick breads. So, I decreased the temperature to 350. The bottoms didn't get brown--but the tops didn't look great. When I make these again (and I will), I'll try them at 375 and keep a close eye on them. At 350, they cooked in 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Very useful recipe. Made a wonderful muffin, and it's such an easy way to create different kinds of muffins ... I doubled the recipe, then divided it into four batches to make four different kinds: Blueberry, blueberry-lemon, maple-walnut, and ... I forget! This is a definite keeper. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Great basic muffin recipe. I added walnuts and 1 teaspoon cinnamon- yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Muffins With Variations

    Serving Size: 1 (1287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1717.6
     
    Calories from Fat 590
    34%
    Total Fat 65.5 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 203.0 mg
    67%
    Sodium 2024.8 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 251.8 g
    83%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 101.0 g
    404%
    Protein 29.6 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes