10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe produces 12 perfect muffins. The first time I made them with the zest of an orange and chocolate chips and the second time with 1/2 cup rolled oats and chocolate chips. I love this excellent versatile recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! September 23, 2002

Very good basic muffin recipe... I used dried cranberries and walnuts and they were delicious. Quite sweet, though and they rather reminded me more of cupcakes than muffins. I think I would also try cooking for less time at a higher temperature because I had a problem with the sides getting too dark before the tops browned. Not burnt, mind you, but getting a little too dark brown for comfort. I'd also try sprinkling the tops with some brown sugar. But overall, very easy, nice and tender and very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie February 08, 2004

The recipe was wonderful... however I ignored your variation options because I wanted to make raspberry chocolate chip muffins from the beginning. But I did use the basic muffin part and they turned out wonderfully. Muchly recommended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay January 06, 2004

This was a good muffin mix, I used cranberries and it was good. Brewhead

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brewhead July 20, 2003

This was great! I made it using coconut. It made a great evening snack and was well enjoyed by all A definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani April 03, 2002

Great basic muffin recipe, perfect for jumping off into variations. I added about 1/2 c. pumpkin (whisked into the wet ingredients). Into the dry ingredients I supplemented 1/4 c. flax for some of the flour, and put in an additional 1/4 c. oats, along with 1/2 t. cinnamon. The result is a pretty and delicious muffin - healthy too! I baked them at 400 for 13 minutes. Twelve muffins exactly. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr July 28, 2012

Very easy basic muffin recipe. I added maple extract in place of the vanilla and then added cinnamon and chopped hazel nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyknightscot May 21, 2012

I made these yesterday for kindergarten snack, using coconut and orange zest. As I was putting them in the tins, I decided that they weren't sweet enough for a kid's taste, so I sprinkled the tops with sugar. They were loved by all but one (who couldn't get past that she thought the coconut looked like onions). Another reviewer found they browned too much, and I have a history of overly browned quick breads. So, I decreased the temperature to 350. The bottoms didn't get brown--but the tops didn't look great. When I make these again (and I will), I'll try them at 375 and keep a close eye on them. At 350, they cooked in 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
El Bee April 30, 2008

Very useful recipe. Made a wonderful muffin, and it's such an easy way to create different kinds of muffins ... I doubled the recipe, then divided it into four batches to make four different kinds: Blueberry, blueberry-lemon, maple-walnut, and ... I forget! This is a definite keeper. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts February 25, 2008

Great basic muffin recipe. I added walnuts and 1 teaspoon cinnamon- yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matzahballsoup November 19, 2007
Basic Muffins With Variations