Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2001

      this recipe took no time at all..total of 20 min maybe. However it wasn't amazing..i think oven cooked meatballs taste dry. Regardless of the fact, on this particular day this easy recipe came in handy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2002

      This is an excellent basic meatball recipe. I left the onions out due to an onion-phobic teenage son, and added garlic powder to goose it up a little. I'm sure the addition of the onions would perk these up even more. Easy, tasty, and fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      very quick recipe! These were pretty good, though a little dry from the oven (I used extra lean hamburger) This would be rectified once they were served with a sauce, though. I also used triple the amount of worcestershire sauce though and next time would add a little horseradish, too. Will use again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      My family loves these meatballs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      These were easy, fast and nice and juicy. I used 85% lean beef. Next time I will add garlic, chopped bell pepper and maybe some oregano to jazz them up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2002

      These meatballs were fantastic -- the family loved them. The recipe is simple and we had meatballs for our spaghetti in no time at all. If you choose this recipe, try using 85% lean hamburger for a moister meatball.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      A nice basic recipe! I wanted meatballs I could use for a variety of purposes, and these are perfect. The only thing I added was garlic powder. I tripled the recipe and froze them all. They're definitely very plain tasting, but that's what I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      These meatballs are wonderful. They are perfectly seasoned, easy to prepare, and I did not find them dry at all. I did not use milk, but otherwise followed the recipe perfectly. I made 3 batches as well that I plan on serving as bbq meatballs, spaghetti & meatballs, and I am crumbling the rest up to use in chili. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Made for Thanksgiving 2009. I used this recipe for meatballs to go with your recipe for cranberry glazed meatballs (#107450) and it worked out very well. I did end up with around 40 meatballs and the bake time for my oven with the size I made was around 15 minutes. They were easy to prepare and the flavor was awesome (gotta admit, I ate some of them right out of the oven the day I made them). I was able to successfully cook them ahead of time and freeze for use on Thanksgiving (took them out and put them in the refrigerator the day before to thaw). Thanks so much for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Great recipe! I used a few shakes of montreal steak seasoning and garlic powder instead of plain salt & pepper. I also cooked these in the skillet on the stovetop instead of baking, to me it seemed faster. This made ~ 20 meatballs for me. Will use again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      These were wonderful! Normally when I make meatballs they come out dry and overcooked. These were perfect! I used Ground turkey instead of beef and they were still very good. I made them with Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti (Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti) and the taste worked really well together. My DH has actually requested that I make these again - a first for homemade meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      A good quick recipe that was very easy to make and not at all dry. Next time I need to add a little something to spice it up a little (not much). I'm going to enjoy experimenting with extras ingredients for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      Excellent meatballs!I left out the milk and onions but added onion powder,italian seasonings,oregano and garlic.Mine were not dry at all,perfectly moist.I would definately make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      I’m not rating this because I got so far off recipe, (1/4 cup parmesan cheese instead of milk, no Worcestershire sauce; commercial spiced breadcrumbs, I used a red onion & etc & etc.) I was just looking for a time and temp to bake, and proportions. This worked great for me. Really not too dry, and I even rinsed the cooked meatballs in a colander to get rid of grease. The thing I wanted to say – a small thing, but anyway- is I put a sheet to tin foil on the cookie sheet to save on clean up. No a big deal until you have to clean the cookie sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Perfect! The store was out of frozen meatballs, so I made these. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      12/2006 I like these meatballs because they are tasty and their texture, right out of the oven is great. To be sure, meatball making can be much more complicated and (trust me) more frustrating, but these are simple, go together quickly, are tasty and just fun to do. 09/2009 I make these a different times with either beef or ground turkey. My son loves them either way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      This recipe made great tasting meatballs. I did not have fresh onion so I used dried chopped onion and added a little bit of water to it. I did not have a baking dish so I used a cookie sheet with tin foil over it. The tin foil made the meatballs get a little bit brown on the bottom but it did make clean up really easy. I also only baked the meatballs for 15 min then I cooked them in a sauce pan with some prego. My boyfriend said that this meal was the best I have ever made him. (it was also the easiest)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Thanks for this recipe! I've never made meatballs before and my boyfriend requested them since i was making spaghetti. These were great although next time i will definetly put more seasonings in to jazz them up, becuase these were a little plain for my tastes. However I had no problem with them being dry (I used soy milk). They came out just right in 20 minutes as directed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      I made these today to go into a meatball soup for tomorrow. I added diced garlic cloves and cilantro. Went easy on the salt because tomorrow they will be swimming in broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Tasty meat balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.8
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    55%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 83.9 mg
    27%
    Sodium 193.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites