14 Reviews

OMG this is so good. I used low sodium soy sauce and added 1/4 cup water as some reviewers said this was too salty. I loved it. Even ate the leftovers cold. I could have eaten the whole 16 ounces in one sitting easily, but thought I probably better not. I also didn't add any oil, as I didn't have sesame oil, but will add it next time. Can only make it better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea May 07, 2013

I have to agree with the other reviewer in that this dish was way too salty for my taste. I didn't realize that the tofu (we used extra-firm) would soak up the majority of the marinade. If I make this again I will water down the soy sauce or use the low sodium kind. I sprinkled the baked tofu with some sesame seeds and cut green onion, which made for a nice touch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ophiael March 23, 2013

Wow was this salty. I love the idea of how simple the recipe is and easy to prepare. I didn't have rice vinegar so I used balsamic. The flavor was nice. But man oh man was this salty. I felt guilty giving it to my kids. I even used low sodium soy sauce. The texture didn't really change once it was cooked- which is fine for us (another reviewer mentioned that it had for them). I was attempting the tofu stick idea, but in the end I still had to cut it into smaller pieces. Thirty minutes to marinade and 30 minutes to cook is a long time as well. One hour was a bit much for me on a busy weeknight. We ate it and it filled us up. I'll be hydrating my family with lots of water for the rest of the evening though...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PWIII June 04, 2012

This was delicious! I used olive oil instead of sesame and added a couple cloves minced garlic to the marinade. Not normally a big fan of tofu but when it's made this way, I really like it. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkaloidqueen March 19, 2012

I really liked this. It was quick and easy to put together, and gave me a great basis for the stir fry I was making for dinner. I made as written, but next time would add some ginger or garlic for a little more intense flavor. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH December 29, 2011

This is SOOO good. I usually add some garlic. I also tend to marinate it longer. I put it in fried rice and asian dumplings. I'm not the biggest fan of tofu generally, but I am when it's made like this...the texture is not like tofu anymore, which is really why I don't like it that much. Tofu this way makes all the difference in the world!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frattie24 December 04, 2011

Mmm, this is great. In the suggestion of the other reviewers, I added 1/4 cup water, and I used low-sodium soy sauce. I forgot to add the rice vinegar, but it still was great. The cooking temperature and time were good, and I'm going to add these to a stir fry tonight. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 July 22, 2015

This is great! I took the advice of those that posted before me and added garlic, but thank you for opening a new technique of making tofu, and a top notch recipe - I will be making this one time and time again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Duffyanne August 15, 2011

Wonderful! I added garlic as well and I brushed half of the pieces with white miso and sprinkled with sesame and broiled at the end to get a nice crispy top. It was so good my carnivorous DH had seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny February 24, 2011

What a great recipe to have on hand for something quick to do with tofu. I haven't really baked tofu this way before, it's really so easy and it browned up really nicely. In fact I didn't get to eat very much of it because my 3 yr old kept pinching it off my plate. I ended up baking the tofu in the marinade, in a single layer - it still crisped up nicely (flipping in between obviously crucial). Thank Mliss - it's not often tofu appeals to my kids so take that as a compliment! Made for Veg*n Swap Mar10

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 28, 2010
Basic Marinated and Baked Tofu