Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2010

      Wonderful "gravy"! I'm on a diet, so I didn't add anything, except the items in the recipe. Served over angel hair pasta and thought I'd died and gone to heaven! Thanks for the recipe. Spectacular! Made for Think Pink tag 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I thought this tasted too much of tomatoes. I added some additional spices to help mellow out the tangy flavor. Made for PAC Fall 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      This is a quick and easy way to get a great tasting sauce on the table for a weeknight dinner. The aroma while this is cooking is amazing. I served this with Italian sausage and broccoli over penne pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I have been using this recipe for nearly a year now. It is wonderful. The only change I make it to add a few red pepper flakes (we like the spice). It puts all of my Italian recipes over the top. Thanks Diamond Joe for this fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I switched the oregano to Italian Seasoning, as anyone who is Italian knows you don't use oregano in Italian gravies. We save that to sprinkle on our pizza! Great recipe with the adaption of the seasoning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      WOW! Highly recommended. Very quick marinara. I made this with your FABULOUS meatballs and the smells coming out of my kitchen were unbelievable. My husband came home from work and thought he'd died and gone to Italian heaven. This will be a family staple of ours for a long time, thank you so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Excellent recipe ... basically the same way I make my marinara sauce with the exception of the red wine, which is a great addition. The only way you could go wrong is not using a good red wine! Made with Old Style Sunday Meatballs. Great combinatiion ... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      WOW! WOW! WOW! This was really something. Before this - I tried another recipe for Sunday gravy that really came out very bland. This recipe simple and delish. Plus the simple way the directions are written make this foolproof. This is a keeper and once you try this I guarantee you'll make this over and over again and again! Thank you so much for sharing this Joe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 74.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    47%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 553.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites