Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Machine French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Machine French Bread

    Average Rating:

    183 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 183

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2002

      This is one AWESOME bread! I made it on the dough cycle, and then took it out, rolled it out into a 15x8 rectangle and then rolled it up on the 15 inch sides. Then I pinched the edges together to be "seamless" and then rolled it back and forth, gently, to taper the ends (bring to almost a point) and then put it on a greased baking sheet with a little cornmeal. I put a few slits in the top about 1/4 inch deep and brushed on a little bit of cold water all over the top of the loaf. Let it rise for another hour and then used 1 egg white to brush over the top of it, and then baked it at 350 for 25-35 minutes (when it was a golden brown and sounded hollow when I thunked it). This turned out to be one of the best tasting loafs I have ever had! I will make this again and again....no more buying french bread for me!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      This is Tammiev, not sure why I was logged in as DH - This bread is great.. I love it hot out of the bread maker.. when I can get away with it. It is wonderful for sandwiches too. I am not kidding,the wonderful yeasty taste and dense structure takes sandwiches to another level. Try cutting it with a bow knife. It makes cutting perfect slices either thick or thin effortless

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      AWESOME BREAD!!! So easy to make!! Great crispy crust...nice and fluffy on the inside!! I followed Diggy's suggestion, by making the bread machine do all the kneading (hard work), and i finished it off in the oven. No more store bought french loaf for my family!!! Went really well with Mean Chef's Linguine with White Clam Sauce #42310. It really soaked up all the wonderful juices of the pasta. Wouldn't change this recipe one bit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      Oh my gosh! Anyone with fears about making bread totaly needs to try this recipe! I will never buy store bought french bread again! I made the dough in my bread maker and then followed diggy's tip about cooking it in the oven. Thank you so much for posting this! It is soooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2002

      Just loved this....perfect 2lb loaf. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I used the flour I had lingering in the back of the pantry. You know the one: you think it came with the house. It was 3g of protein a serving but I used it because that's what I had. I cooked it in the bread maker instead of rolling it out and it was great. For the record, my order was: water first, flour, salt and yeast on top. I set it for french, rapid (I was in a hurry), and light on the crust. The hardest part of this was getting it out of the breadmaker's tray. The second hardest part was trying to cut it without smooshing it down. Very good. Very easy. No eggs or milk (which the mixes had). Fantastic! Thank you so much for posting it! Served this with minestrone soup (#77585).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Good bread. I subbed some wheat and added a little vital wheat gluten to compensate for that. Made it in the ABM on dough cycle. Brushed with melted butter. Baked at 350 for about 35 min. Next time will use water to get a crisp crust and will make into sub rolls for sandwiches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This was a really good loaf of French Bread! I followed Miss Diggy's instructions and it came out very nice. Great texture. I brushed a little melted butter on top and it was a nice non-fattening touch for flavoring the crust! Thank you! I will be making this again! Jelly :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      My dog LOVED your bread. She ate more than I did. I baked this wonderful loaf, left it cooling on the kitchen table, ran some errands, and when I came home, the crust was gone and the bread was on the floor. I had a slice before leaving and my dog looked so guilty when I walked in, I couldn't be mad at her. Take that as a compliment. :) The only problem I had is this bread broke the motor on my bread maker during the kneading cycle. It was really heavy and thick and kept pulling the kneading blade out of place. Now, the machine motor is not working. Just wanted to warn others, if your machine has a hard time kneading this bread, pull it out before it's too late.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I wanted to make bread in my bread machine last night and found your recipe. I didn't have "Bread Flour" so this recipes was awesome using regular flour. The bread came out nice and moist on the inside and had a great crusty outside. Only thing I did different was to add 1 TBSP butter in each corner of the pan. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing. ~V

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I made 2 of the most beautiful loaves of bread from this recipe, I set the timer on the dough cycle, then shaped them, let them rise, sliced a few slits and brushed with egg and water and baked for 30 min. The results were fantastic, no more buying french bread for me! Thankyou so much for this simple but great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      I make this all the time following Diggy's recipe. It comes out nice and crispy. Well, yesterday I ran out of eggs, so I used half and half as the prebake wash. I baked it for 20-25 minutes, and when I took it out of the oven, I melted butter on top of it. Then I returned it to the oven, placing it directly on the oven rack, and left it for 3-5 more minutes. This is the softest bread ever! So if you want a soft bread, I would suggest the cream wash, if you want a crispy crust, go with the egg wash. They are both great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      I concur with all the other reviewers! This bread is fabulous! Excellent texture and flavor for a French Bread! I baked as directed, but next time, I will follow Diggy's excellent instructions! Thank you Ricky, for posting this on Zaar for all of us to enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      so amazing, thought i would be able to save a loaf but some friends came over and it was all gone by the end of the night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Amazing recipe, I have an Oster bread machine and it works very nicely. I made it with medium darkness in the crust and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

    • on November 06, 2013

      They say that bread making is a science... and I can tell you now that just THAT little bit of flour or salt... or NO oil.. makes a huge difference. I've been experimenting for a while now with different bread recipes and you'd think that just a 1/4 cup of this or a 1/4 tsp. of that wouldn't change it much... well... let me tell you.. it is a difference of great proportions in taste. This is THE recipe ........ I made 3 different recipes today (for the football playoff game) (each has been reviewed here previously) and hands down.. this is the winner. I didn't bake this in the machine.. I split it into two long loaves and baked at 400° for about 25 minutes (I sprayed the oven with a spritz of water when I put them in).. Thanks for a taste that we've been searching for. I think I need to bake it a bit longer for a crispier crust. YUM.. :-)<br/>UPDATE: 11/06/13 This is still a terrific recipe. I've replace one cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of white bread flour and added a little Vital Wheat Gluten. I made two baguettes and they turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      A little salty but it was my fault, used sea salt (last teaspoon of the can). Will try again, but I think it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Quite simply awesome! The first time I made this....my picky daughter said-I don't like this-I LOVE this! I knew then that this is a keeper! I have made this bread several times...always good never lasts! I do make mine on the dough cycle then bake...yummmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Machine French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.3
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    73%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites