Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Kentucky Chocolate Walnut Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Kentucky Chocolate Walnut Pie

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

      We made three of these pies for my daughter's special project on KY. We LOVE this easy to make pie! Making it again today for some KY family members, and it is sure to be a hit. We don't use the bourbon, and we use pecans. I am sure it is great with walnuts and bourbon as well. Highly recommend, hard to mess up this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I've been baking this pie for years and this one will give your pancreas something to do because it is sweet but it is soooo good. I lost my recipe and when I went to look for it on line I found so many that were more complicated and fussy until I found this one that is exactly like I recalled my recipe. I sometimes add bourbon to it but it doesn't often get that far from my glass. I'm going to make it now. Thanks Kitty Kat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I have made this a few times, and have adjusted it a bit as it was a bit too sweet. Used 3/4 c of sugar, and added about 2 Tablespoons of white karo syrup. Also adjusted the chocoloate chips to 3/4 cup. Wonderful!!! My family loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Divine! I changed some things though - instead of 1 cup sugar, I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar; and I toasted the walnuts first. I really love how the chocolate all sinks into the bottom and creates a nice fudgey layer! Thanks a lot for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Trust this Kentucky girl when I tell you this pie is YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!! My mom has been making this since I was a kid and it's always been a favorite! Except we use pecans, gotta make it as Southern as possible! This pie is chewy, thick, and best served warm! Make this on the first Saturday in May and pretend it's the good ole days!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Favorite pie! It's so good, and easy! If I'm making this for adults, I add a splash of Maker's Mark bourbon... sooooo gooooood. This is an annual dish on Derby Day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Absolutely love this pie! Have been looking for a recipe for it for sometime and was very excited when I came across it. Everyone loved it and I was very sad to not have any leftovers after having people over for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      The true Kentucky Derby Pie (from the Kern's family) does not add chocolate chips into the mix. The chips are added to the crust, and the filling poured on top. This pie is best served warm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I live in Louisville and this is a great pie!! I can't wait to make again!! :) Happy Holidays!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      TOOOOO, TOOOO SWEET. TOO much chocolate. I tasted the batter before adding the chocolate and nuts, and it tasted like icecream, so I got really excited. ONLY to be upset later after baking, it wasn't chewy, it was too sweet, and it tasted like a pecan type pie with chocolate in it. It was so sweet you didn't have any other flavor than sweet. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      In honor of the Kentucky Derby, I made this pie - and ended up making 2 of them. Took one to the party - and it went immediately. We served vanilla ice cream on the side and people raved! I was going to take the other to work and DH said no way. Have had several requests for the recipe. And it was so easy - a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I made this pie last weekend for a Kentucky Derby party and it turned out very nice. A bit sweet for my own taste but others really liked it and it didn't stop me from having two pieces (they were small). I think I would add some bourbon next time. I had intended to make two pies and doubled the recipe for the filling but the doubled amount filled one pie crust. After I put it in the oven I got concerned that it may bubble over as it was quite full but it didn't - I baked it a bit longer than called for and it came out nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Made two of these day before yesterday.... turned out excellent! I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and made it with pecans. The pie crust I left frozen, piled the mixture in and baked it...worked great! I did use self rising flour and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of kentucky straight bourbon.. just the right amount I think. With the self rising flour you want to make sure to only fill the pie shell to about 1/4 to 1/8" below the top of the pie shell - also make sure to put some foil or a baking pan underneath it just in case. Delicious pie, and very close to original "name brand" ones I've ordered several times and paid a fortune for! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This pie was delicious! Tasted like cookie dough!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This pie is amazing and simple. I followed the recipe the first time. Perfect. My own preferences are pecans and mini chocolate chips. We prefer the flavor of the pecans and the texture difference with the mini chips. We don't use the alcohol either as we are not fond of the flavoring. Any way you stack it, this is the original and its fantastic. Perfect anytime of the year but particularly at holiday gatherings. Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      A slice from this pie was exactly like the one I use to get when I was a little girl from a pizza and ribs place next to the campground. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This was one of the easiest pies I have ever made. It was delicious! My family loves them - I can't make them fast enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

    • on October 14, 2007

      This pie is out of this world yummy! It's the real derby pie recipe. I put kentucky bourbon in it (about 4 tsp). I took it to a bbq and it was the hit of the night! Everyone loved it. Easy to prepare and delicious,too. What more could you ask for? denise b. In sc

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      This is the greatest pie ever made. I will say that if you add a tablespoon of bourbon it really enhances this treat. I actually put two tsp. of vanilla in mine as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Kentucky Chocolate Walnut Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 698.4
     
    Calories from Fat 405
    58%
    Total Fat 45.0 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 102.6 mg
    34%
    Sodium 299.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 49.2 g
    196%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes