Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic French Silk Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic French Silk Pie

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      WOW! This is a super smooth pie. I left out the booze and used a chocolate graham crust. It was really good. My hubby is a chocoholic and he loved it! Thanks I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I wish I liked this pie more than I did. It was made to be a birthday pie for my youngest daughter, who loves Bakers Square French Silk pie. I guess we hoped for something along those lines, but this recipe is not. It makes a bitter-sweet chocolate filling -- as opposed to a sweet-chocolate French Silk. *I should note that the family members who like dark chocolate thought it tasted very good.* My other objection is the volume that the recipe makes. As you can see in the photo that I posted (the one with the butterfly crust that my daughter painstakingly cut out with tiny double cookie cutters), it only filled the 10 inch, pre-baked pie shell half-way. Considering the concaved edges of a pie plate, that is not a lot of filling. If you mound the whipped cream above the crust line at all, it is going to be a one-third chocolate, two-thirds whipped cream pie -- not my ideal ratio. In the end, if you like shallow dark chocolate pies: you will probably like this one. If you want Bakers Square style: you will have to find your car keys.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This pie had good flavor, but was way to rich for my family. It was more like eating fudge. But like I said, it did have good flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Wow! Chocolate mousse in a crust! Yum! I used Chocolate Crumb Crust from this site for the crust (I used Oreos) and put in a 9" springform pan. It was time consuming, but easy and it came out just right. I will make again and it is something I would make for a dinner party. Very rich!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This is one for serious chocoholics. It's almost like a cross between fudge and chocolate cheesecake. I can't describe it. Absolutely phenomenal and very easy. Hubby loves it, I mean LOVES it. I knew it was the recipe for me when I read 8oz of chocolate. I'm not sure if it matters but I used Ghiradelli chocolate. I think I am still in a chocolate coma from last night's slice. I used regular pie crust, but I'm not sure if it was the cheap store brand crust or what, but the crust was a bit of a detriment from the chocolate goodness. I might try the graham crust next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Such a delicious pie! Not too hard to make, if you take your time heating the eggs up. You want to get them to 160 degrees. My whole mixture looked a little grainy with sugar until the vanilla and Grand Marnier were added, so don't worry if yours does too. The pie is sooo smooth, rich and chocolatey! I'll make this all the time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This recipe was delicious and so creamy and I even left out the liquor. It was also insanely easy to make. The only tricky part was keeping the eggs from scrambling, but constant stirring and watching them helps. I think I even did sort of scramble them a bit, and it still came out smooth and silky. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      This was one of the most fantastic pies I have ever made. I used a regular baked pie crust and it turned out delicious. I have already been asked to make it again, and I will. Definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I have found sin on a graham cracker crust. Not for the novice chocoholic! It was soooo good and it was soooo rich. Thanks DiB for helping me reach chocolate nirvana.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I too added the butter to the melting chocolate and instead of Kahlua I used Chocolate Godiva liqeur. yam!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      I've been looking for a French Silk Pie recipe that cooked the eggs and I found it! Although I have not made this recipe yet, just wanted to say to reviewers that this recipe is designed to fit a graham crust, which is considerably smaller than a pie crust. If you want to use a pie crust, I sugest making the recipe 1 and a half times and that way you will have enough for a deep pie crust...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      What a fantastically easy pie! I didn't bother with the double boiler for the choc., or the eggs, just made sure to use low heat and stir frequently. This was so good that DH, who isn't usually big on sweets didn't want to share...with anyone! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      What a great recipe! I too have been looking for a silk pie that cooked the eggs. I was a little scared to try cooking the eggs, but it turned out great!! I did use a rolled crust instead of graham cracker because I like the salty/sweet combo. I also used Godiva liqueur instead of the Kahlua. Thanks for posting DiB's! My DH is already wanting to know when the next one will be made!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      This was fabulous and easy. I substituted Godiva Liqueur for the Kahlua to keep it chocolatey. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      This was excellent, and I liked not having to deal with the raw egg issue of many silk pie recipes. I dumped the butter chunks on top of the chocolate in the kichen-aid bowl while I was heating the egg/sugar mixture, then threw the egg sugar mixture on top and beat all three at once. It worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic French Silk Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.2
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    56%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 123.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 208.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.2 g
    96%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites