34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with mayness in that this is an excellent resource. I thought I lost the recipe as my 'favorites' got deleted when I updated my computer. I found it pretty easily though. I love this site!

It's been over two years since I posted this review and I still use this recipe more that any other. Thank you Tish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dammian July 12, 2012

I used the quick soak method with kidney beans and froze the leftovers. They were really "grainy" textured when I used them a few days later, I won't be freezing beans again! But otherwise this was very helpful, I never had much luck with dry beans. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS September 06, 2010

Thanks so much for this! I infamously suck at soaking beans ahead of time...But I really hate paying for canned. Will use the quickie method over and over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy February 10, 2010

I had always used canned beans and this is so much better. I did the traditional soak the first time and quick soak for the second time and both times, they came out perfectly. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison F September 10, 2009

Thank you for posting this really informative recipe....methods, really! I used to always just buy canned beans, but comparing prices....ouch! (Especially now!) Thanks for taking the time to post this--it's very educational!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeCooks December 08, 2008

just what I needed to know about cooking dried beans. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erbian December 02, 2008

I have used this method for 2 or 3 types of beans and it is always a success. Thanks Tish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 August 29, 2008

Thank you! Very informative and usefull information on cooking beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gisxprt August 06, 2008
Basic Dried Beans