Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Dried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Dried Beans

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2008

      Thanks so much for this information. I love all pulses and vastly prefer the cooked (dried) version to canned. I had never heard of the "Gas-free soak" directions before. Always happy to learn useful cooking hints and tips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Perfect! I am putting a pot of beans on and wanted to know the raitos for dried/liquid and found it here. Thanks have saved this for refernce in the future. Wonderful post Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Thanks for the tips! We love beans so your info is greatly appreciated!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Thanks for the info!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Brilliant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Great information! My husband and I like to eat healthy, and beans are a wonderful food source if you want to improve your health. The only problem is, well the smell. But no more, the gas-free soak really seemed to work. Thank you for making it easir to be healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Thank your for posting this recipe. I always thought making basic beans was more difficult tha it is. I made them using the HOT SOAK method, and tbey came out perfect! I don't have as much time to make them today, so I am going to try the QUICK SOAK method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

    • on May 24, 2006

      These instructions really helped. The gas free soak seemed to make a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Thank you very much! This is my second time cooking dried beans using your instructions! You've taken 'the mystery' out of dried beans! No more cans for me! Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      Very useful. The Gas-Free Soak makes a big difference! Great reminder and handy all in one place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      This is brilliant! For some reason I never thought of freezing cooked beans. And since I rarely plan my meals ahead of time, I always end up using canned beans. However, there is no truth to the rumor about salt slowing the cooking process. And beans taste so much better if there's some salt in the cooking water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      This has been a great help as I have started using more dry beans in my cooking. The instructions cover everything I need to know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      Thank you Thank you!!! I've managed to ruin many batches of beans because I didn't know these facts and I winged it.....we all need the "basics" spelled out like this! Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Dried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (2370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites