Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Dried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Dried Beans

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2004

      This recipe gives all the different ways that can be used for preparing dry beans. I used it to make a Black Bean recipe and it does really help. Thank you Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Thanks for the bean basics - I have jars of beans that I never cook just because I'm not sure what to do. I had bought a variety of dried beans for jar soup gifts but now I can cook some for myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      This recipe was exactly what I've been searching for. Back to the basics! It is a good way to start working with beans, while keeping costs down. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      Great explanations for a beginner. I like beans, but haven't really made them before. This is exactly what I'm looking for. Why buy canned beans when dried beans cost you pennies - plus you can easily mix and match!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Dried beans 101--thanks for taking the time to post this--it is awesome. Beans turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Great technique to cook dried beans. I had never cooked dried beans before so tried this method. This worked for me using the quick soak method. I froze the beans for future recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      THANK YOU, Tish! These are great instructions! I just got done with some garbanzos and have some black beans soaking (traditional method) to cook up this evening. I'm freezing my beans in "1 can" servings so I can quickly use them in recipes....SO much cheaper than buying them canned! Thanks again for the great instructions!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      This is clear, precise and easy to follow directions for a someone new to cooking beans. THANK YOU.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This is a super resource for information about cooking beans, thanks for posting this! I felt very confident cooking dried beans after reading through this. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Thank you! Worked great! Finally, I have a reasonable method to avoid all that salt in canned beans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      I agree with mayness in that this is an excellent resource. I thought I lost the recipe as my 'favorites' got deleted when I updated my computer. I found it pretty easily though. I love this site!

      It's been over two years since I posted this review and I still use this recipe more that any other. Thank you Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I used the quick soak method with kidney beans and froze the leftovers. They were really "grainy" textured when I used them a few days later, I won't be freezing beans again! But otherwise this was very helpful, I never had much luck with dry beans. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

    • on February 10, 2010

      Thanks so much for this! I infamously suck at soaking beans ahead of time...But I really hate paying for canned. Will use the quickie method over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I had always used canned beans and this is so much better. I did the traditional soak the first time and quick soak for the second time and both times, they came out perfectly. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Thank you for posting this really informative recipe....methods, really! I used to always just buy canned beans, but comparing prices....ouch! (Especially now!) Thanks for taking the time to post this--it's very educational!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      just what I needed to know about cooking dried beans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

    • on August 29, 2008

      I have used this method for 2 or 3 types of beans and it is always a success. Thanks Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Thank you! Very informative and usefull information on cooking beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Dried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (2370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites