20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy, delicious, and very filling. I too used 1 large egg in place of the egg substitute. It makes a very thick batter, and scooping 1/2 tbsp size balls into the oil worked best for me, yielding about a dozen donut holes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxInMD October 03, 2010

This is such a great recipe and easy. My kids made it (all but putting them in the hot oil). We then filled them with vanilla pudding with a piping bag and dunked them in chocolate ganache and had them as a dessert. The kids had so many ideas for fillings and glazes that they are already speculating for the next time we make these. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbooth1978 November 08, 2009

Using this recipe to make "doughnuts" for the first time, it was simple, easy and oh so yummy. My 8-yr. old watched the whole process and loved eating them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-Bon May 31, 2007

This recipe was really simple and delicious. The only problem is that my husband keeps asking for more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CK101 January 30, 2007

I had a sick child home from school today and needed something easy to give him for breakfast for when he felt like eating something. These fit the bill very well. They were easy to make and he enjoyed them at his own pace. Thanks for this easy, child friendly recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R.Lynn September 22, 2006

What a great recipe! It's easy and tasty, too! No more rolling out dough and cutting out donuts for me! Thank you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tangible*things January 16, 2006

These were very tasty. I made a double batch and covered half with powdered sugar and half with cinnamon sugar. Mmm...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Mama January 14, 2006

I made these using one egg in place of the egg substitute as well and added one tablespoon of vanilla extract for taste because they were a bit too plain when I first made them, even after coating with sugar.

They turned out really crunchy and didn't have that light fluffy texture that donuts usually have and tasted more like Churros than a donut. I found that coating them in cinnamon and sugar makes them a lot more sweeter than if you ate them plain.

It was good nonetheless and I would definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UsefulSpoons January 19, 2013

I don't know what I did wrong, but these weren't as easy to make as I thought. First, I had to substitute vinegar and baking soda for the egg, I also substituted half and half for the milk, and used peanut oil to fry them in instead of vegetable oil. First off, I didn't have a thermometer that went past 250 degrees, so I had to guess-timate. I set the heat on medium high until it got nice and hot, then I dropped 4 doughnut holes in at a time. They browned WAY too fast, like in under a minute. So I had to immediately take them out. I lowered the heat, and continued to fry, but the rest of the donuts did the same thing, except they browned too fast but didnt cook all the way--the middle was still doughy. I couldn't seem to find a happy medium. I gave this recipe 3 stars because of the taste alone. Even though they were dark golden brown, and some weren't cooked all the way, they tasted great. I ran out of sugar so I used brown sugar and cinnamon as a topping--which I HIGHLY recommend! I also did a trick my grandma used to do, and added some holes to a brown bag filled with powered sugar, closed the top and shook the bag for a bit--which is more of a beignet technique, but very very good. If someone could email me and tell me what I did wrong so I can make these again without worry, I would greatly appreciate it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlainaF March 27, 2012

Easy & tasty. A fun morning project with the kids! The second time we made these, I substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for the AP flour. The combination produced the same consistency and the taste was just fine. I also used a regular egg & cinnamon in place of nutmeg. On the second batch, we made simple vanilla and chocolate glazes which the kids REALLY loved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydreamteam February 12, 2010
Basic Doughnut Holes