Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Doughnut Holes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Doughnut Holes

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2010

      Easy, delicious, and very filling. I too used 1 large egg in place of the egg substitute. It makes a very thick batter, and scooping 1/2 tbsp size balls into the oil worked best for me, yielding about a dozen donut holes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This is such a great recipe and easy. My kids made it (all but putting them in the hot oil). We then filled them with vanilla pudding with a piping bag and dunked them in chocolate ganache and had them as a dessert. The kids had so many ideas for fillings and glazes that they are already speculating for the next time we make these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Using this recipe to make "doughnuts" for the first time, it was simple, easy and oh so yummy. My 8-yr. old watched the whole process and loved eating them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This recipe was really simple and delicious. The only problem is that my husband keeps asking for more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      I had a sick child home from school today and needed something easy to give him for breakfast for when he felt like eating something. These fit the bill very well. They were easy to make and he enjoyed them at his own pace. Thanks for this easy, child friendly recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      What a great recipe! It's easy and tasty, too! No more rolling out dough and cutting out donuts for me! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      These were very tasty. I made a double batch and covered half with powdered sugar and half with cinnamon sugar. Mmm...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I made these using one egg in place of the egg substitute as well and added one tablespoon of vanilla extract for taste because they were a bit too plain when I first made them, even after coating with sugar.

      They turned out really crunchy and didn't have that light fluffy texture that donuts usually have and tasted more like Churros than a donut. I found that coating them in cinnamon and sugar makes them a lot more sweeter than if you ate them plain.

      It was good nonetheless and I would definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I don't know what I did wrong, but these weren't as easy to make as I thought. First, I had to substitute vinegar and baking soda for the egg, I also substituted half and half for the milk, and used peanut oil to fry them in instead of vegetable oil. First off, I didn't have a thermometer that went past 250 degrees, so I had to guess-timate. I set the heat on medium high until it got nice and hot, then I dropped 4 doughnut holes in at a time. They browned WAY too fast, like in under a minute. So I had to immediately take them out. I lowered the heat, and continued to fry, but the rest of the donuts did the same thing, except they browned too fast but didnt cook all the way--the middle was still doughy. I couldn't seem to find a happy medium. I gave this recipe 3 stars because of the taste alone. Even though they were dark golden brown, and some weren't cooked all the way, they tasted great. I ran out of sugar so I used brown sugar and cinnamon as a topping--which I HIGHLY recommend! I also did a trick my grandma used to do, and added some holes to a brown bag filled with powered sugar, closed the top and shook the bag for a bit--which is more of a beignet technique, but very very good. If someone could email me and tell me what I did wrong so I can make these again without worry, I would greatly appreciate it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Easy & tasty. A fun morning project with the kids! The second time we made these, I substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for the AP flour. The combination produced the same consistency and the taste was just fine. I also used a regular egg & cinnamon in place of nutmeg. On the second batch, we made simple vanilla and chocolate glazes which the kids REALLY loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Tasted more like funnel cake than a doughnut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      These hit the spot and will save much $$$ in running to the bakery (as much). I used 1 egg (didn't have egg sub.) My oil was too hot and center didn't cook, but still good. I'll fix that for next time. Also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Sorry, but didn't care for. Texture was too "heavy" for a doughnut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      So good I only wish it would say the size to drop in a spoon full is way too large because they expand too much. They are so so so good!!! I had left over chocolate butter- cream frosting that I injected into them and then I coated them with a basic vanilla glaze. thank you for the sugar rush!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I just made these for breakfast today and were they delish. I didn't have egg subtitute so I just used 1 egg and they were good.. Very simple and quick to make.This is a keeper recipe for my family. YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Thanks so much! My family loved it. For my diabetic relatives, I even made a second batch with eggs whites, soy milk, and splenda. The texture was predictably different, like fluffy little scones, but they were still yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      These were loved by all at our house. I quadrupled the recipe, but added a little more salt, and quite a bit more sugar to make it sweeter so I do not have to roll it in additional sugar. Also, omitted the allspice because the kids do not like that. Easy and fast to make, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Really yummy :) I made them for my gf this morning, they were great! at the start I tried to make them too large and they had gooey centers lol. but after you get the hang out it, they are great. Very fast to make and easy to clean up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

    • on January 07, 2006

      Mmmmm! This recipe is both simple and delicious. I decided to chill the dough in the freezer for about 10 minutes to assist w/shaping the doughnut holes into round shapes. My family is picky about how their food looks. I also sprayed my hands with butter flavored cooking spray to ease in dough handling. It worked great. We ended up with very beautiful not mention tasty doughnuts. The dough is light and fluffy just like the doughnut shops and the 1/8 tsp of allspice flavors them nicely. I used powdered sugar for the dusting. The recipe didn't state where to add the allspice so I added it to the flour mixture before adding wet ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Doughnut Holes

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    29%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 318.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes