17 Reviews

Very tasty, I swap out granulated sugar for confectioners which makes them light as air. However I always have to make a double batch (even with the granulated) does not make 12 full sized cupcakes. Tasty with some tweeks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollikate April 21, 2013

The batter was a little on the thick side so i added 1/2 cup milk...turned out perfect everyone loved them!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qustnmrk28 February 02, 2011

As a pro chef I didn't think this recipe was going to be good, I mixed it like a pie dough and it came out very thick. I added half & half to thin it out a little and it worked great. the only problem i had was i tripled this recipie and only got 15 cupcakes, I did make them a little bigger than usual. Also i had to bake them for almost 30 min at 350 in a convection oven. But in the end they turned out great

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soupdoc53 February 15, 2010

This recipe has a pleasant taste and texture, and is very simple to make. The instructions did not provide a lot of direction, so this is what I did: cream the sugar and butter together first, add eggs and vanilla. Separately, I sifted the flour, baking powder, amd salt together. Then, I gently mixed the wet and dry ingredients together. The recipe just barely filled 10 cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harold I. July 04, 2016

These cupcakes absolutely tasted good. I picked it because I was baking with a 2yo and my usual recipe was too complex for her. The cake however is extremely dry. If we make it again we'll definitely add milk. I doubled the recipe and like other reviewers the batter made 17 cupcakes instead of 24 as expected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycouponemail045 May 03, 2016

Over my baking experiences, this is by far the best recipe I have ever used, I have had so many troubles in the past with bad recipes or wrongly measured recipes, so after awhile I started to use boxed mixtures. But then when I saw how simple this recipe was i decided to give it a go, and with cutting down on the sugar by a tablespoon and adding two tablespoons of milk this mixture was easy to make and turned out brilliant! Even though the batter wasn't quite enough I still made it work. I gave them to my family members and guests and they all fell in love with the cupcakes so I would fully recommend this recipe! Enjoy baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melis G. August 12, 2015

I loved this recipe! I added some orange slices, a handfuk of blueberries and about 1/2 cup of cinnamon and they came out perfect! I was only able to make 10 out of the 12, even with the added ingredients, but it wasn't a huge issue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ava.pond July 14, 2015

These turned out great and were so quick and easy. I tweeked mine by adding 4 Tbsp of milk, 1 Tbsp instant coffee and 2 Tbsp cocoa powder.I baked them for 22 minutes and they were super moist. They were yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda J. March 26, 2015

Cupcakes were delicious. The batter was thick, I added a very small amount of milk to thin it out. It was great. The bake time was 20-25 min, not 18-20. I made 9 regular sized cakes. This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sun1182 July 20, 2014

An easy cup cake recipe to put together, I baked 12 cup cakes at 160C fan forced oven and they were done in 15 minutes. The DS took them to his music recreation day were they were enjoyed. Thank youSam #3 made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 19, 2009
Basic Cupcakes