Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Chicken Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Chicken Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2014

      Really delicious I left out the hard boiled egg and gherkins and it was still amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Made this as directed except I run the chicken through my food processor first.I used boneless skinless chicken breast and just boiled them on the stove. This is delicious!! Please don't leave out any of the ingrediants-they all have a place in this salad and make it oh so good! Putting them on mini croissonts to take to a graduation open house for my niece and I'm sure everyone will love them as much as I do. This is way better than "basic" chicken saled-it's the bomb! Thanks for sharing Nimz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Terrific chicken salad, TRUE! Doubled recipe, put inside scooped out tomatoe too! Skipped the egg, had some cajun chicken to use, on hand, "Crunch with a munch" send you to La-La Land" Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Loved it. With toasted sliced almonds, this is a cut above "basic" chicken salad. This has the perfect balance of almonds, celery and sliced gherkins, with a hint of onion. The hard-boiled egg is barely discernable, but I think it helps the mayonnaise mixture to blend better with the chicken. Thanks for posting ~Nimz~! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Loved this chicken salad! I can't wait to have this with my salad. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Dis is da bomb! Loved all ingredients in this wonderful chicken salad with a big taste. The gerkins, purple onions, the almonds and egg make up all the wonderful taste to this salad. I added less mayonnaise at first, and as it was a bit dry, added another tablespoon. (I used about 1/4 cup mayonnaise altogether) Served on fresh lettuce and tomato, and boy was this tasty! Thanks, Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Almost forgot to rate this, made it last week for work day lunches for hubby and I. We had it on crackers and it was very yummy. I liked the addition of the gherkins. I plan on taking this on our annual family car show weekend, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      A great chicken salad. Easy to make from things in the pantry. The almonds are new to me but I think they are a great addition. I used a little diced red pepper to add the color I missed from the red onion. DH won't eat onions so I use onion powder (as long as he can't see the onion he doesn't seem to ever notice the taste, men!). Yummm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Excellent! All the ingredients of this wonderful salad go together perfectly! I loved the addition of the toasted nuts and gherkins, the crunch from the celery and the creaminess of the egg. This one's a winner! Thanks for sharing, Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This is delicious! It really is worth it to take the time to toast the almonds. The toasted almonds add some extra depth in flavor. It's agreat lunch salad and it would be great for company such as for baby showers, etc. This recipe is a keeper; thanx for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Yum! I love every ingredient in this and they were wonderful together. I don't usually add egg to my chicken salads, but will from now on. I used leftovers as a sandwich which was really good too. Thanks Nimz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      I really enjoyed this salad. I did add salt and pepper. I added sweet relish instead of pickles. I left out the almonds because my kids would not eat it if they knew, but next time I will definitely add them. thanks for a wonderful, quick recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      i love this on crossants thank you for posting check out nimrods site she has some really good things here

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      Tasty and crunchy. Definitely, do not leave out the almonds! I found I had to add a bit of salt to the sandwich and will probably up the pepper next time, too. My husband appreciated the change from the usual. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2004

      This chicken salad really isn't much more work my usual chicken salad, but it tastes SO much better! The additions of the almonds, egg, and relish (which I used instead of the pickles) gave the salad a nice complexity. I will toast my almonds in the oven next time, as dcmac is correct that they must be watched very closely when toasting them in a frying pan. I also will try chopping the egg more finely. Thanks for this recipe, dcmac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      This makes a great chicken salad sandwich! I left out the onion and almonds for dietary reasons, adding onion powder instead, and also reduced the pepper slightly due to personal preference. It was so simple, and turned out delicious, much more flavorful than the simple combo of chicken and mayo I usually whip up. The pickles added a yummy taste and crunch. I bet it would have been even better with the almonds to add extra texture! This will probably become a lunchtime staple in our house. Thanks, dcmac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Chicken Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 763.6
     
    Calories from Fat 450
    58%
    Total Fat 50.0 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 226.2 mg
    75%
    Sodium 932.3 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 47.0 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes