23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, I have to comment first of all on some other reviews. The flour is not there to keep the chicken moist. It helps with browning and thickening the sauce. I made the mushroom-wine sauce. This does not make much sauce, so there is no reason to cut back. In fact, if you were serving this with rice or pasta or mashed potatoes, I'd recommend doubling or tripling the sauce. The amounts of liquid listed are not soupy at all--there is very little liquid in the finished dish. The recipe is excellent; I'd like to try some of the other variations. Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl May 06, 2012

Winner winner chicken dinner! This is fancy enough to serve guests and easy enough to devote your time to other side dishes. I made the mushroom/wine topper and the only thing I'd do differently is add some cornstarch, like another reviewer, to thicken the sauce. I also let the chicken keep cooking on low heat while the topping prepared. My chicken was thick and I didn't want to take the chance of having it not be done completely.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 07, 2012

A very nice basic way to prepare chicken with some nice topping options! I did take a little liberty with the recipe to fit our preferences. The first liberty was not to dreg the chicken in flour, yes the flour does help keep the chicken moist but so does proper searing and cooking (DH and I don't need the extra calories). The second liberty I took was to leave out the chicken stock and cut the wine down to 1/3 cup as we love sauteed mushrooms over meat but do not like a lot of broth or grave and could tell reading this would have been too soup for our preferences, last I did not measure the rosemary just snipped one nice size sprig up and added to the mushrooms. Bottom line we enjoyed and would like to try the Carabbean topping next time. Thanks for the post.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 05, 2012

We loved this great chicken! The cooking method and time was perfect, nice and crispy outside and very tender. I made the Caribbean topping with a minor change: I used fresh pineapple and jarred jalapenos with some of their juice. This made for a wonderful fresh sweet and spicy sauce that we really enjoyed - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the "Variety is the Spice of Life" event 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof May 08, 2012

Thanks to Variety is the Spice of Life Event I picked this recipe to try.

For my choice I chose to mix it up. I use the following in our recipe

Chicken Broth, Butter, Onion, Pineapple, Rosemary and apricot preserves .

This dish turned out to be such a fantastic recipe. The flavor was amazing.

Looking forward to making this dish again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE May 04, 2012

I love your method of frying chicken, it turns out so crispy, delicious and spot on done. I pounded my chicken to be an even thickness. On 5-2-12 I made your Tomato Artichoke topper and while I enjoyed it, it was not my favorite. Today 5-3-12 I made your Mustard Caper topper, subbing olives for the caper. I LOVED it!!! Many thanks for sharing this versatile recipe Renee Redman
Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event and Down on the Farm Photo Tag Game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker May 04, 2012

I chose the red onion-Dijon mustard variation for the "Variety is the Spice of Life",event, and it was simply fabulous.

Good job Renee, I had my doubts, but it was perfect. Lots of sauce for the chicken and the mashed potatoes (I used Mashed Potatoes With Variations 181396)

On note, I used pretty thick half breasts, so I knew 8 min wouldn't do it. I cooked mine 20 min and they were just right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
personalchef May 03, 2012

Very good! I can't wait to try the other variations. I added a little cornstarch with the liquid to thicken it up a bit. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky May 03, 2012

What I love about this recipe is the options. The basic chicken method is wonderful. The chicken is perfectly cooked with a crispy coating. I chose to make the mushroom-wine topper and loved the flavor combinations. I'm excited to try the other 3 toppings (and I will!). Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 31, 2013

Loved this chicken with the tomato-artichoke toppers. Cooked and browned my chicken nicely then removed from skillet to make topper ingredients. I enjoy cooking with balsamic vinegar so knew right away this was the topper for us. The italian tomatoes and artichokes were a nice flavor combination with the balsamic and adding the mozzarella gave it the "gooeyness" you look for in an italian dish. Will definitely make this again! Made and reviewed for the contest and event forums Variety is the Spice of Life Event 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 04, 2012
Basic Chicken Breasts W/ 4 Variation Toppers