Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2014

      We tried this recipe last night, and it looked exactly like Tom Douglas's photo. We won't be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

    • on November 21, 2012

      This is my go to recipe for cheese sauce and thought it was past time to review it. I made it yesterday to go over gluten free pasta. The flour was a gluten free blend. I like to use a combination of cheeses and typically stay with a cheddar and mozzarella blend. This is excellent with pasta or over veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Great sauce. I used it for a casserole, so had to add more milk to make it a little thinner. :) Otherwise, thanks. Since going gluten-free, I miss my Mac & Cheese terribly. ;) Also added garlic powder, which gave it some extra ooooomph!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      This was a really good and quick cheese sauce. Thanks for posting such a great sauce recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I was looking for a quick cheese sauce for some broccoli after realizing that I was out of the beloved cheese whiz that the kids adore, lol! This was easy to make and I of course prefered it to cheese whiz but the kids thought it was just ok. I think next time I may add some additional cheese and see if that makes them like it more. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This was great! super simple to make too. I left out the cayenne pepper but added 1/2 tsp dried parsley flakes in it's place. I also replaced the cheddar cheese with shredded monterey jack. This was really good with blue corn chips on football sunday. Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      This was a good sauce. I used it on a loaded baked potato with butter, broccoli,diced ham and green onions. It had a nice flavor. I also halved the recipe to 1 cup since it was just two of us here at home. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (692 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 644.9
     
    Calories from Fat 457
    70%
    Total Fat 50.8 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 32.0 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 154.4 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1254.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 23.9 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites