10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe..served it over salmon loaf family loved it...#hinttotomdouglas you cooked it too long cheese breaks down fast

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mauriann06 September 19, 2014

This is my go to recipe for cheese sauce and thought it was past time to review it. I made it yesterday to go over gluten free pasta. The flour was a gluten free blend. I like to use a combination of cheeses and typically stay with a cheddar and mozzarella blend. This is excellent with pasta or over veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 21, 2012

Great sauce. I used it for a casserole, so had to add more milk to make it a little thinner. :) Otherwise, thanks. Since going gluten-free, I miss my Mac & Cheese terribly. ;) Also added garlic powder, which gave it some extra ooooomph!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi Waterworth June 15, 2008

This was a really good and quick cheese sauce. Thanks for posting such a great sauce recipe....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parkers Mom October 11, 2006

This was great! super simple to make too. I left out the cayenne pepper but added 1/2 tsp dried parsley flakes in it's place. I also replaced the cheddar cheese with shredded monterey jack. This was really good with blue corn chips on football sunday. Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bippie September 19, 2006

This was a good sauce. I used it on a loaded baked potato with butter, broccoli,diced ham and green onions. It had a nice flavor. I also halved the recipe to 1 cup since it was just two of us here at home. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. May 21, 2006

This is one of my favorite sauces. The best part is how customizable it is. I like to add in an 1/8 cup of parmesan to give it a little kick. To avoid the separation problem that some people have experienced, take the sauce off the heat as soon as the cheddar has melted, but keep stirring! Also, cheddar is greasy, so increasing the cheddar to milk ratio can cause the oil to separate, leaving you with gritty, tasteless, lumpy mush. If the sauce isn't cheesy enough, the cheddar was probably too mild. Rather than adding more cheddar, try adding a very small amount of a second, harder cheese like parmesan or romano. It only takes a little. Too much parmesan can easily overpower the taste of the cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous June 08, 2015

We tried this recipe last night, and it looked exactly like Tom Douglas's photo. We won't be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ANClements January 27, 2014

I was looking for a quick cheese sauce for some broccoli after realizing that I was out of the beloved cheese whiz that the kids adore, lol! This was easy to make and I of course prefered it to cheese whiz but the kids thought it was just ok. I think next time I may add some additional cheese and see if that makes them like it more. Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * September 19, 2006
Basic Cheese Sauce