Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Brine for Juicy, Tender Chicken or Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Brine for Juicy, Tender Chicken or Turkey

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2012

      As a basic brine, this simple recipe worked out great for me. It falls short of five stars only because I did a lot of tweaking to add flavor to the brine mix by adding some aromatics. I will say though, in the last three years I've been coming here for recipes, this is the first one that inspired me enough to make an account and comment.

      I rough cut a carrot, celery stalk, three large cloves of garlic, and an onion. A couple of sprigs of fresh thyme (gently tap the sprigs with the back of a solid knife to bruise and bring out more essence) really rounded it out nicely.

      I tossed all of that in with a whole cut up chicken and put it in the fridge. It smelled amazing, still cold and uncooked, when I lifted the lid off after only three hours of soaking in the brine.

      I rinsed and patted the parts dry, then made a mixture of 2 tbs olive oil, 2 tsp paprika, 1 tsp fresh chopped garlic, 1 1/2 tsp finely chopped fresh thyme, and 1/2 tsp pepper. Baked at 425 for 30-40 minutes. My family absolutely loved it. I've never had chicken breast so tender and juicy.

      You can chop two or three russet potatoes, skin on, toss in the same herb and oil mixture (before the chicken) and salt to taste. These can be cooked alongside the chicken and will be done at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Thank you for this great recipe.This was the first time I've ever tried any type of brine.I made chicken thighs that I seasoned with onion and garlic powder after they came out of the brine.I broil them until done,turned the oven down to325 and applied Bar-B-Que until nicely glazed.That was the best chicken I have ever made and I have been cooking for over 40 yrs.Thank you again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I "discovered" brining about 3 years ago and can't believe I have lived so long without it... it really does make chicken/turkey so moist and juicy... I usually use another brine when I make turkey but it has a few spices in it that I think would interfere with other flavorings I was going to add to my chicken breasts, so this recipe was absolutely perfect! I scaled it way down since I had only 2 large breasts to cook and left them in the fridge for about 3 hours. I dried them off and then proceeded with Crispy Baked Chicken Breasts... Thanks for sharing a great, easy recipe many people can benefit from!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      We brined our first heritage Thanksgiving turkey with this recipe. I took some notes from other recipes and added some orange slices and garlic cloves but kept everything else the same. It was the juiciest, most flavorful turkey we've ever eaten. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      Wow! Thanks for this! I always bought the pre-brined stuff from the butcher's, but I was not entirely happy since I know they put nitrates into it -- you know, the same stuff that goes into hot dogs to preserve it. I love that I have this recipe! It made my chicken breasts so tender and they did not dry out after frying them as chicken fingers--which so often happens to me. My only mistake was putting an equal amount of sugar and salt into it. I think it made them slightly sweet, when I was really going for a more savory taste. Next time, I won't skimp by trying to use the same measuring cup. ;o) Will use this all the time from now on. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Good, but a bit salty - I think next time I make it, I will cut the salt in half. Thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      I've been using this for my turkey, chicken and even recently for a pork loin roast-it's the best I've tried ever. It's simple and easy and the taste is awesome. I thought I had rated it years ago but just realized tonight that I had not. This is the only brine I will ever use-it does a wonderful job. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      So simple, but so effective. I only brined the chicken for 3 hours, then I chose to roast it, and it was the best roast chicken I've ever made. Some seem to believe that wet brining softens poultry skin and keeps it from getting very crispy, but after roasting at 450F for approx 1 hr the skin was super crispy, while the meat was juicy and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      I used this on chicken pieces for 2 hours, then baked in the oven. It definitely made a difference. They were juicy and tasty. I didn't use the full amount of sugar and I would definitely be careful of not using too much salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Tried this recipe today,it's a great recipe. I will keep using it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This worked real well for me. I brined the chicken overnight, rinsed it off and dried it well with a paper towel before roasting it. The leftover chicken breast meat I ate 3 days later was still moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I wish there were more stars to give. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with some of the best chicken i have ever tasted. I ended up putting a chicken rub on mine before I barbecued it. The next day I made my husband a sandwich with the leftovers and the chicken was still very moist. MMMM, so good, I want to make some more today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Thanks for posting this recipe, all of my chicken recipes are even better now!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This was my first attempt at brining and it was marvelous! I brined 2 cornish game hens and cooked with olive oil, garlic salt and pepper and they were delicious! so tender and moist, just wonderful! Thank you Brandee for suggesting and you were right, they finally thawed out lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Used this for Southern Fried Chicken Fingers With Green Peppercorn Mayonnaise. All I can say is that I enjoyed the fried chicken I had. Was juicy and so delicious! I didn't make a gallon though. Just halved it. Thanks for sharing. Made for Recipe Swap #21.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Brine for Juicy, Tender Chicken or Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (4082 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 557.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56741.4 mg
    2364%
    Total Carbohydrate 143.9 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 142.3 g
    569%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes