Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2003

      Soooo gooood! And gawsh, it's so quick and easy too! The combination of spices in this dish is outstanding, and I can't think of any tweaking that this recipe needs! Thanks Linorama, this was great! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      I've been eyeing this recipe for years and finally made it. The spices and consistency were terrific! It was easy to make! BF loved it and said "black beans are so underappreciated!' Wow. I used fresh tomatoes and didn't bother to peel them. No other changes, but I added hot sauce the next day to the leftovers. I would definitely make this again. Adding to my fast but good cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Excellent! I added about a quarter cup of sharp cheddar cheese. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      Great dish! I added a little cilantro because I had it in the fridge. Very tasty, filling (and healthy too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      Yummy!! I used a can of fire roasted tomatoes and added in brown rice. So easy and so good! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Simple, easy, delicious. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Good recipe - made "as is" but halved for our family. It was an easy side for tacos.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This came out better than I thought it would. The combination of spices is wonderful, it is so easy to make, and low-fat too! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      These were AMAZING. I loved the texture after leaving them to simmer for about 15 minutes. I used a lot of cayenne and canned tomatoes. I would eat this every day. Soooooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Excellent easy recipe! I have recommended this recipe to people asking for good bean recipes many times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I thought this was great; I used it for a burrito filling for us tonight. I am a vegetarian & am trying to find meals we can both enjoy here & there! He enjoyed these--so thank you! I cut the recipe for one can of beans & subbed the tomatoes with 1/3 cup thick salsa. I "messed" w/ the spices as I tend to just use what we like w/ mexican food & it was very FAST & yummy! Thanks so much for sharing :-) **UPDATE: should mention that leftovers are GREAT on nachos!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Lovely! Very simple. I cut the recipe in half. Also added some frozen corn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I halved this recipe and served it over cilantro-lime rice with diced avocado, and the flavor was very good. However, I thought it was too dry. I used canned tomatoes, and I think maybe I wouldn't drain them next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Pretty TASTY! I made this a long time ago. I will make it again sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Nice recipe but I think it needs more flavour. If using beans not from a can it needs quite a bit of salt. Very yummy though and I will make it again but double the spices. I also added a can of corn and served it with brown rice, salad and avocado. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This dish is awesome! Even my son, who rarely eats at all, was lovin' them! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      5 stars! Great with fish tacos and cilantro lime rice. We won't be using anything else from no on. Thanks Linorama!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Yum! I'm trying to both eat healthier food and cut what I'm spending, and this recipe managed both objectives as well as tasting great - thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I prepared these as a side dish and we all loved them. I was out of fresh garlic, but even with garlic powder these beans were extremely tasty. Thanks for sharing a great new way for me to fix my family black beans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I've made this several times now! I can't believe I missed rating it. Very easy, delicious recipe. We like it over rice, but then I use the leftovers for "tacos" the next day. Very versitile! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 48.6
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    49%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 199.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites