Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Biscotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Biscotti

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      Terrific & easy!! I took out the nuts and added cranberries and orange est with a little dip in white chocolate.....used to buy it. Now I make it. Yummy!! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Overall the taste is pretty good and it is a very easy recipe. However, the chef who commented that the egg smell was too much is correct. When doing step # 12, I almost gagged. I did sprinkle cinnamon on the cut pieces which did hide the smell a bit once they were done. Next time I'd use only 2 eggs and try the yogurt idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Good recipe! I'm new to biscotti and have had some flops. This was easy. Too sweet though. I used 1 cup sugar- 1/2 white, 1/2 brown and they were very sweet. I also only had 2 eggs so I SUBSTITUED plain YOGURT the 1 & these turned out great! Added anise and almond extract- yummy. This is a great basic biscotti to play with. Firm just as biscottii should be for dippping! Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Substituted 1 cup of the flour for Whole Wheat and reduced the sugar by 1/4 of a cup - but they really were still too sweet (and i'm a sweets person!). Added extra salt balanced it out a bit. Also added a bit of vanilla - really have to work together the dough, but it's not too bad. Good, hard biscotti though. Good recipe for tweaking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I had a hard time with the dough, I couldn't get all the dry ingredients to incorporate, but mostly. I added 1 tsp of vanilla. After slicing I sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking again. These are a bit harder than other recipes I've made, but are very good. Next time I will probably add a touch of milk to the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Such a great, basic recipe! Other reviewers are on to something - you can definitely enjoy these plain or add dried fruit, other nuts, chocolate chips, coconut, fruit zest, etc! I used 4 oz coconut instead of almonds and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups because I live at 7000 feet. Next time I will reduce the sugar more; if you add any sweet ingredients (even unsweetened coconut) it gets too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Great basic recipe. I personally don't like a ton of sugar in baked goods, so I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Also added about a cup each of chopped dried apricots and dark chocolate chips. Might have just been the added apricot and chocolate but next time I make this I will use even less sugar, probably a cup, as the biscotti was still a bit sweet for me. Also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I followed the amounts and directions closely but was disappointed with the dough consistency...kept falling apart...difficult to handle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      excellent recipe. this is real biscotti - i'm sick of seeing recipes for "biscotti" with butter or oil in them. they are supposed to be very firm & crunchy - like these - not soft. very good recipe. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Very good. I added mint and vanilla extract and dark chocolate chips. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      My first ever try at biscotti for my kids dad for Christmas. It was too hard because I over baked them, but they had a fantastic taste. Would love some input on how to best cut them though. A bit crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Added 2 tsp. of vanilla, used 1 2/3 cup sugar and 1/8 tsp. salt and baking soda instead. Divided the dough in half and added toasted almond slivers to one half and mini-choc. chips to the other. They turned out fantastic! My husband loved them. Took them to an owner of a shoe store in the area and she ordered 2 dozen on top of the rest of her order for a trunk show on the spot! She just emailed me and said everything was delishious--especially the great biscotti. So yeah, this recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Okay, I was totally freaking out because the dough was really crumby and the biscotti burnt, but luckily I persevered, because I managed to rescue them and produce fantastic tasting biscotti! Too fiddly for me, but if ever stuck in on a rainy day I'd like to try diff. variations

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      awsome biscotti recipe i used fitzjams advice and used 2 tsp of vanilla i had planned on just adding 1 till i saw his post thanks Fitz, i use to use martha stuarts hazelnut biscotti recipe but substituted for almonds. i like this recipe alot better and my friends all love it. also if you want you can add 1 tblsp of amaretto creamer to the flour mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      First time biscotti maker. I put in a tsp of vanilla. If I were to make them again would probably use two. Very easy and the idea will be used in the future. Are they supposed to be so hard??? Maybe I missed something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      Great recipe! I also decreased the sugar and left out the almonds because I am allergic. To add some fiber, I substituted a cup of the flour with whole grain oat flour. I added some chocolate pieces to the dough. Next time I'll try it with some grated lemon zest! Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Love this biscotti, Each time I add something different to please the taste buds. The best added item todate has been almonds, white chocolate chunks and cranraisins. My son loves it with chocolate chips . So the basic is now turned into something special with no added work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      This is my first Biscotti recipe. I love it! It is so easy and exactly what I was looking for. I will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2004

      This is a great recipe, but next time my dad (a pastry chef) suggested that I should maybe try 1/8tsp baking soda and 1/8tsp baking powder to make the biscotti even more firm. I think I might add less sugar too cause I found them just a bit too sweet. I added Ricard liqueur to half of the batch (I had no anis at home) and it was sooooo yummy. I made chocolate/mint biscottis with the other half. I love these cookies cause you can be so creative :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      A great basic biscotti. I will defintely make these again. Thanks!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Biscotti

    Serving Size: 1 (935 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.7
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    20%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 31.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites